Will S

back to the directory
£ 20.00-25.00 p/h

Hello! My name is Will and I have recently completed my NQT year teaching mathematics in Weymouth to students aged 11-16, including GCSEs. This experience has taught me a lot about the unique learning styles of children and how I can adapt my teaching in a way to benefit them. I am able to provide support and reinforce learning that has been done in the classroom in accordance to the National Curriculum to ensure a stronger level of understanding when you leave compared to when you arrive.

How would you describe your teaching style?

Prior to teaching I worked at an activity center for children aged 7-17, so I enjoy bringing a lively and exciting energy to the classroom when introducing new topics to engage students. This means there can sometimes be a degree of unpredictability to my lessons which should aim to keep the students on their toes prepared for what's coming next. If students feel overwhelmed or have a more low-key learning style, I am sincere, patient and understanding of their requirements and will work with them at a pace they're happy with in a way that suits their needs.

What qualifications do you have?

GCSEs: English (Literature and Language) Mathematics Biology Chemistry Physics German D+T: Electronics Information Technology Religious Education Sport (BTEC) A-Levels: Mathematics Music Technology Chemistry Physics (AS Level) Undergraduate Degree: BSc Oceanography (Hons) Postgraduate: PGCE (Secondary Maths)

Tell us about your experience...

Shortly after completing my undergraduate degree I worked at PGL for 3 years as a study instructor which involved working with children aged 7-17. This enlightened me in how to apply various subjects to real life applications and how to support the relevance of it. After working for PGL I enrolled in the University of Southampton's PGCE programme to specialize as a mathematics teacher. This required led me to study about the psychology of how children learn as well as working in two placement schools based around Southampton. Immediately after completing my PGCE I began working in a local secondary school as an NQT. I had a tutor group of year 7 students who I shared with another teacher prior to her maternity leave and taught a range of classes from years 8 through to 11. Additionally, I would share responsibility for supporting students in maths club after school as well as running an extra curricular live music club.

What locations do you tutor in?

Currently I am based in Weymouth, Dorset and will be until mid-summer when I start moving back to Southampton. For the current moment I will be tutoring via internet, however I will consider travelling to tutor in the near future.

What is your personal message to students?

If there are any queries you may have then feel free to contact me and we can tackle them together. Everyone has great potential to achieve and I will help you on your journey in achieving yours. No matter how difficult things are, we can figure it out. As the saying goes, "where there's a Will, there's a way".

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes, Enhanced DBS
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: I am available to tutor via Skype, Discord, Zoom and Microsoft Teams.
Subjects: Maths PGCE Secondary