Waheeda K

back to the directory
£ 15.00-35.00 p/h

I am a former secondary school maths teacher with a true passion for teaching and a love for mathematics. I have worked in the education sector for over 15 years and started tutoring about 13 years ago. As my client base grew I decided to concentrate on tutoring full time, so I no longer work in a school, which allows me the time to give 100% to my students. Most lessons are structured in a similar way to those at school; starting with front of class teaching followed by students working individually through worksheets. During lessons my assistant and I are on hand to provide students with individual help. We also have some informal lessons where they are able to work through exam papers and revision sheets at their own pace. We carry out regular tests and mock exams in our SATs and eleven plus preparation classes in order to help students to improve their timing and exam techniques. I believe homework to be an important part of the learning process helping to consolidate classwork. Homework is given every week and collected the following lesson for marking. Students also have access to online homework, revision videos and mock exams at no additional cost. I offer a free no obligation comsultation in order to gain an understanding of your child's needs and suggest the most appropriate course of action.

How would you describe your teaching style?

In general my teaching style is traditional, but it varies and is adapted to the needs of my students. I aim to present myself as an understanding, kind and approachable teacher.

What qualifications do you have?

I studied mathematics and the sciences at A level before completing a bachelors degree in Economics. After completing my degree I enrolled on to Nottingham Trent University's PGCE programme to train as a secondary school mathematics teacher.

Tell us about your experience...

I have experience working with students of all abilities and ages. On average GCSE students improve by 2 grades. I have previously helped students go from a D grade on the foundation tier to B on the higher tier (old grading system). I have also helped many students gain places at their first choice grammar school, including king Edwards Camp Hill, and secure scholarships at private schools.

What locations do you tutor in?

I am based in Handsworth Wood, and students travel to me from all over Birmingham. I also offer online tuition via Zoom and tutor children from all over the country.

What is your personal message to students?

Confidence is the key to success.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes- DBS
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: I use Zoom for online lessons.
Subjects: 11 Plus Kay stage 2 (CEM)
  Maths GCSE
  Maths Key Stage 3
  Maths Key Stage 2/SATs
  English Key Stage 2/SATs
  11 Plus Key Stage 2 (GL)