Trevor B

back to the directory
£ 30.00-35.00 p/h

A Modern Languages graduate with a PGCE, I have taught French and German for over 40 years and also spent 2 years teaching English in a German Gymnasium. I enjoy working with students who find languages difficult as well as with high fliers who want to realise their full potential. I offer a free consultation meeting and introductory lesson prior to embarking on a programme of tuition with a new student. As I am retired, I am fairly flexible concerning availability but prefer not to teach at the weekend or after 7.30 p.m.

How would you describe your teaching style?

My lessons are always designed to build confidence through encouragement and identifying and addressing the needs of each individual student. I have an extensive range of resources and continue to produce new ones as necessary. At A level I often combine grammar practice with cultural topics and make regular use of the latest news and information from Germany.

What qualifications do you have?

I have a BA Hons degree (2:1) in French and German from the University of Southampton and a PGCE from the University of London.

Tell us about your experience...

After two years teaching in a comprehensive school in Chingford I moved to Germany to teach English for two years in a German Gymnasium and to further polish my own German language skills. I then came to Canterbury to teach German and French at St Edmund's School, where I remained for 33 years, becoming both a Housemaster and Head of Modern Foreign Languages. I have enjoyed the privilege of working as a private language tutor in both Germany and England. My wealth of experience has enabled me to develop techniques, resources and tips to simplify the understanding and mastery of German grammar.

What locations do you tutor in?

I normally tutor in the student's home but, subject to the necessary consents, am happy also to tutor in the student's school. I have additionally conducted more informal lessons with adult learners and for a reduced fee in a local café when this has been the most convenient arrangement. I prefer not to teach in my own home and am willing to travel up to 10 miles each way.

What is your personal message to students?

Learning foreign languages requires discipline and good habits but should also be enjoyable. You are acquiring a skill for life that can unlock many doors in your professional career as well as enriching your experience when you travel. I love to help students realise their goals and experience the same pleasure language acquisition has always brought me.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: DBS Nov 2017
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: 10 mile radius from Canterbury
Online tutor: No
Subjects: German GCSE
  German A LEVEL
  French GCSE