Tom B

back to the directory
£ 30.00-35.00 p/h

Friendly tutor open to A-level or GCSE students in maths, physics or programming/computer science. I'm currently carrying out PhD research for Rolls-Royce in the application of artificial intelligence to aerodynamic design, based at the University of Southampton. I have a first class degree in Natural Sciences (Astrophysics) from the University of Cambridge, graduating in 2016. I've previously carried out research in astrophysical fluid dynamics at the University of Leeds, during which time I taught first and second year mathematics tutorials. I've also worked as a (software) developer and machine learning engineer for a fintech start-up based in Leeds.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I think the key to a successful tutor-tutee relationship is patience and understanding. I want the student to feel comfortable and enjoy our sessions, and I very much encourage questions and open dialogue. Initially the aim will be to get an understanding of the students level, finding the topics that are causing difficulties. It is often the case that students spend more time on the topics they're already familiar with rather than attempting to tackle those that they're not. The aim in these sessions will be to focus on these more challenging topics and encourage the student to focus on improvement rather than confirmation within their own revision work. I also like to keep the students mind focussed on the exams, with regular exam questions tackled both together and individually to gain familiarity and confidence when going in to the real thing.

What qualifications do you have?

PhD Aerospace Engineering, Rolls-Royce and University of Southampton (2020 - ongoing) BA, MSci (First Class) Natural Sciences (Astrophysics), University of Cambridge (2012-2016) A-Levels: A*A*A*A (Maths, Further Maths, Physics, Biology)

Tell us about your experience...

I've previously taught first and second year undergraduate applied mathematics tutorials at the University of Leeds, in both differential equations and vector calculus. The first year classes typically had around 12 students, whilst the second year course was closer to 40. The classes were interactive and involved both tackling problem sheets myself on the whiteboard, as well as asking students themselves to show the class their solutions. I would also go over any topics from the lectures the students found particularly challenging or had any questions about.

What locations do you tutor in?

Online preferable, potentially willing to travel depending on location.

What is your personal message to students?

Aim high and don't fear making mistakes.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: No
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: Zoom/Skype/Teams
Subjects: Physics GCSE/A-Level
  Maths GCSE/A-Level
  Computing GCSE/A-Level
  Science GCSE