Tim D

back to the directory
£ 20.00-40.00 p/h

I have 35 years experience, preparing students from their first lesson to any level for public exams (Trinity, ABRSM, GCSE and A Level), or just for pleasure (Classical, Folk, Blues, Rock). I also teach theory, composition, song writing, music technology (home recording), electric guitar and bass. I teach from age 7 to 70 plus. I'm used to encouraging children through the difficult moments, and counselling adults who are often far too hard on themselves. I never forget whose lesson it is, and I will tailor the process to fit whatever the student's needs. Please note: Concessionary rates are available subject to qualifying benefits, e.g. free school meals.

How would you describe your teaching style?

In my experience, individual student needs vary widely. Therefore, I adapt my teaching style to the circumstances. I would suggest that I bring enthusiasm for the subject to the lesson; I enjoy sharing the secrets of the art of performance.

What qualifications do you have?

Diploma in Music, BA Hons., Masters Degree.

Tell us about your experience...

I have been teaching (and studying) since about 1983. My background before then was mainly in theatre. I am a published composer, and I have considerable knowledge of recording studio technology.

What locations do you tutor in?

I teach anywhere within reasonable reach of Belsize Park (say 5 miles). Occasionally, students will come to me.

What is your personal message to students?

I will encourage you to the limit of your ability, but I will not pressure you to unreasonable heights. Progress will be determined by your own pace and or commitment. Generally speaking, students who want to do grade exams progress at about a grade per year.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes (Basic Disclosure)
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: Up to 5 miles from Belsize Park
Online tutor: No
Subjects: Music advanced
  Guitar advanced