Sophie M

back to the directory
£ 25.00-30.00 p/h

I have been a primary teacher for 6 years. The majority of my teaching experience has been in Year 3 and Year 4 but I have taught briefly in all other year groups, and also in a special school. I also worked as a teaching assistant for two years prior to qualifying. In this role I mainly supported pupils with additional learning needs and ran intervention groups for extra maths and literacy support. I have tutored primary children from Years 3 to 6 and helped to prepare for the national tests and the transition to secondary school. I enjoy tutoring as it gives me the opportunity to work closely with pupils who benefit from having a little extra support to raise confidence and engagement with school and learning.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I adapt my lessons to suit the needs of each individual pupil. I try to make the sessions fun and engaging to encourage enthusiasm for learning.

What qualifications do you have?

I am a qualified primary teacher (PGCE with QTS) and also have a masters degree in educational practice. I am currently completing a diploma in Special Educational Needs.

Tell us about your experience...

I have been a primary school teacher for 6 years, teaching mainly in Key Stage 2, particularly Years 3 and 4. I have also spent two years as a teaching assistant supporting pupils with additional learning needs and running intervention groups for Maths and English skills.

What locations do you tutor in?

I will travel to areas local to Taffs Well such as Radyr, Rhiwbina, Whitchurch etc.

What is your personal message to students?

I hope to be able to help support students to gain confidence and encourage a lifelong love of learning.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: Within 5 miles
Online tutor: No
Subjects: Primary Education Primary
  English Primary