Simon W

back to the directory
£ 30.00-30.00 p/h

I tutor both mathematics and statistics in south Warwickshire. I have experience of working with children who are preparing for the 11+ exam right through to A-levels, including Common Entrance, GCSE, Additional Maths, AS level, Further Maths, AEA, STEP . I have also worked in 3 local high schools as an Intervention Tutor, a teacher of Further Maths and, currently, as a Boost Tutor at an independent school. I have been a private maths tutor since January 2008 and have been very successful in helping students to achieve the grade they want. Please look at my website for more details.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I am very keen to get students to take ownership of their own learning, i.e. letting them choose which topics they'd like to cover. I am always ready to push my students but at the same time I am very patient and considerate of their needs. I ask lots of questions to test their understanding and encourage them o ask about anything that they are not sure of.

What qualifications do you have?

I have a maths degree from the University of Warwick (2:1 MMath Hons obtained in 2000). This is a four year course - essentially a BSc with an extra year added on at the end which allows students more scope to investigate a broader range of subjects or develop a deeper understanding of certain topics.I also hold a master's level qualification in Manufacturing from Cranfield University and a Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector qualification (Level 4). I have 3 A-levels: maths, physics and French (all grade A) and 11 GCSEs (5A*, 5A, 1B)

Tell us about your experience...

I have been tutoring since January 2008 and have worked with over 500 students in that time. The majority of these students have been GCSE, AS and A-Level students. I have also worked in Henley School as both an unqualified maths teacher and a one-to-one tutor. In addition, I have worked as an examiner, marking A-level scripts for one of the major exam boards, so I really do know what the examiners are looking for! I have been very successful in my work as a tutor. I have helped many students to obtain the grade that they want and need for FE/HE in addition to boosting their confidence with the subject.

What locations do you tutor in?

Online: across the world! In person: Stratford upon Avon and the surrounding areas. I can travel up to 8 miles outside of Stratford but this is dependent on time of day and traffic.

What is your personal message to students?

Tutoring is not like normal maths lessons. I expect you to work hard - you won't just sit back and listen to me for an hour. The more you do the more you will get out of our time together. Don't be afraid of making mistakes - it's all part of the learning process and don't worry if you don't understand something straight away. It often takes time for our brains to make sense of new ideas, concepts and knowledge. I also expect you say when you don't understand something - I'm happy to rephrase something or explain it in a different way. I am really patient and I always try to consider what's best for my students.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes, DBS
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Stratford upon Avon, Henley in Arden, Wootton Wawen, Snitterfield, Tiddington, Alcester, Bidford, Welford, Long Marston, Alderminster
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype/Zoom and BitPaper
Subjects: Maths A-Level
  Maths GCSE
  Maths AS-Level
  Maths KS3
  Maths 11+
  Maths IB
  Mathematics Equivalency tests