Shivani K

back to the directory
£ 15.00-20.00 p/h

Currently I am studying Medicine at Imperial College London and have loved every second of it. It is an extremely rewarding course that presents many challenges and endless learning opportunities. Whilst progressing academically is the priority, it is important to have a work-life balance and get involved in extra-curricular activities; I am part of a dance group and the surgical society at Imperial. The revision period, exams and applying to university is a highly stressful time where students need as much support as possible and going through this experience myself has inspired me to tutor for the last 3 years. With 3 years of tutoring experience and more I have the patience and listening skills necessary for great and rewarding lessons. I will help my students improve most importantly by encouragement, setting expectations and academic targets. I will ensure students have the basic understanding of topics before moving into more detail through good communication and encouragement to ask questions. Furthermore, I can adapt to different learning styles for the student but also introduce them to a learning style they may have not tried before which could be very effective for them. If you are interested then please do get in touch with me and I always offer the first lesson free for the student to decide if i'm the best fit for them and their learning :)

How would you describe your teaching style?

I will structure my lessons by setting learning objectives at the beginning based on the topic chosen by the student, teaching the material and clarify understanding, check the student's understanding by asking questions or simply asking the student to explain to me what they have learnt and then finally revisiting the learning objectives with the student to check that they have been met. To prepare for the lesson I’ll set the objectives with the student so that they know what to expect and can tailor it more towards them and what they need. Additionally I shall prepare how to deliver the lesson as best as possible and the questions I shall ask to check the student's understanding. In terms of delivering the Online Lesson, it is dependent on the material being taught. For example some topics may require the use of more diagrams or equations as opposed to written facts. It is also dependant on the student's learning style and if they prefer visual aids such as diagrams and mind-maps or more verbal techniques which I can adapt to and deliver. Encouraging the student to ask questions is integral to encourage learning and build on foundations of knowledge and understanding in my opinion. I will support student in the ways they require to ensure their academic progress and through setting targets, monitoring these with them and writing tests if they wish as I believe they are the best way to measure progress on a topic.

What qualifications do you have?

I achieved high A* in all my GCSEs. In my A-levels I achieved A*AAA in Biology, Chemistry, Religious Studies and AS Maths respectively. I am now going into my 4th year of medical school at Imperial and therefore have a further understanding in Biology especially.

Tell us about your experience...

I have been tutoring for the last 3 years in mostly Maths and Chemistry. My students academic ability has improved greatly and they have felt more confident generally in these subjects and topics they struggled with.

What locations do you tutor in?

I mostly do online tutoring however I can tutor in Hammersmith and Fulham.

What is your personal message to students?

Looking for a tutor can be quite difficult as there are so many of us out there offering various things. This is why with new students I always offer the first lesson free because students should feel comfortable with their tutor and determine whether they are a right fit for them and their learning style. For me personally, I always like to build a rapport with my students to make sure they can reach their full academic potential with confidence and enjoy this process of learning and developing their understanding. I place a lot of focus on past papers and mastering them as practice definitely makes perfect! If you like the sound of the above then please do get in touch with me and we can discuss further. I look forward to hearing from you and of course, good luck!

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype and Zoom
Subjects: Chemistry A level & GCSE
  Biology A level & GCSE
  Maths AS level & GCSE
  11 Plus
  UCAT