Shane P

back to the directory
£ 12.00-12.00 p/h

Welsh lessons - I am a Welsh speaker doing a degree at Bangor University whilst teaching Welsh part time. As someone who knows the struggles on learning a new language, I am very patient and will work at whatever pace you'd prefer.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I look at what the student has been learning and cater the lessons to their strengths and weaknesses focusing on oral and written, learning new patterns and consolidating old ones. I will devise the lessons with formal (written) or informal (speech) welsh, depending on the students needs. Coming from a Welsh for Adults background, I understand the struggles of learning Welsh and am very patient. I will also suggest a number of activities run through the medium of Welsh to help you build your confidence.

What qualifications do you have?

Rwyf wedi gwneud cyrsiau 'Cymraeg i oedolion' yng Ngwent ac rwyf yn gwneud gradd Cymraeg ym Mhrifysgol Bangor ar hyn o bryd. I've completed 'Welsh for Adult' courses in Gwent and am doing a Welsh degree at present.

Tell us about your experience...

Rwy'n gallu gweithio yn tafodiaith y de a'r gogledd. Fel rhywun sydd wedi dysgu Cymraeg fy hun, hoffwn i helpu pobl eraill yn dysgu ein hiaith. Ar hyn o bryd, rwy'n gwneud gradd ym Mhrifysgol Cymraeg ac rwy'n helpu llawer o bobl yn dysgu Cymraeg drwy Zoom a Skype. As someone who has learnt Welsh myself, I’d like to give back to people who wish to learn the beautiful language. I am currently doing a degree in Welsh at Bangor University and am also tutoring several people through Skype and zoom! I can work with the south and the north dialect.

What locations do you tutor in?

Casnewydd, Caerdydd, Rhisga, y Coed Duon. Newport, Cardiff, Risca, Blackwood

What is your personal message to students?

I am here to support you through your learning experience. I am very patient and will go to your pace. I will also email work before each lesson which we will study together during our session drilling new patterns and learning new words. If I am supporting comprehensive pupils, I will look at what they have been doing at school and work on them through that whilst strengthening their written skills. I am easygoing and patient, bringing a bit of fun to the mix. Feel free to ask my any questions prior to booking any lessons. Diolch :D

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: No
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Newport, Pontypool, Cardiff, Blackwood.
Online tutor: I tutor through Skype or Zoom.
Subjects: Welsh All levels