Selina P

back to the directory
£ 30.00-30.00 p/h

Friendly, enthusiastic tutor who is passionate about English and will inspire success. Determined to get you the grades you deserve. I have a First Class (honours) degree in English and Popular Culture from the University of Wales Institute Cardiff, and am currently studying an MA in English. I have an Enhanced CRB Disclosure.

How would you describe your teaching style?

My teaching style is both professional and relaxed. I feel it is important that after a long day in school students don't feel like they are still there when they come home. I like to get to know my students as we progress through their English studies. As well as having a good sense of humour, I am quick to identify strengths and areas for improvement, and leave no stone unturned when preparing for upcoming exams.

What qualifications do you have?

I have a BA in English and Popular Culture (1st Class); an MA English with Distinction and a PhD in English Literature where I specialised in nineteenth-century Literature. Moreover, I have a PGCE in Post-Compulsory Education and Training. I am currently studying towards an MA in literacy leadership.

Tell us about your experience...

I am currently teaching English at an FE college where I am also GCSE English Coordinator. Within the college, I work with both sixth form students who are resitting and adult learners who are keen to take the GCSE English exams. I also teach A Level English Literature. I am also a GCSE English examiner for two separate exam boards and therefore have good knowledge of several specifications. I have worked at a school in Cardiff teaching English to pupils and providing additional support to pupils during exam periods. In addition, I was a Project Leader for an after-school literacy club which focussed on GCSE English for year 10 and year 11 pupils. I have also taught several modules at undergraduate level including Reading Literature; An Introduction to Poetry; Post-War British Writers; Victorian Writing; Postcolonial Writing; Introduction to Narrative and Nineteenth Century Literature. I have been tutoring since September 2010 and have provided tuition for the following subjects: KS3 English GCSE English Language GCSE English Literature GCSE Media Studies A-Level English Language A-Level English Language and Literature A-Level English Literature A-Level Media Studies Undergraduate English During my time as a tutor I have worked with students improving their grades from D to A* and have assisted those on the C/D borderline to achieve the C grade. I am fully aware of the specifications for a number of exam boards and the coursework required for each qualification. I also have experience of delivering the GCSE English specification to both adults and children that are on the ASD spectrum, with successful results. I have particular strengths in developing learners in writing academic essays - notably those who are preparing for university.

What locations do you tutor in?


What is your personal message to students?

I ensure that my sessions are tailor made to suit your needs, and that they develop your confidence in your English skills. My primary focus is to ensure that you feel at ease so that we can work on English together, thus improving your grade and (hopefully) getting you to enjoy English.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: CRB
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: I tutor via Zoom
Subjects: English SAT, GCSE, A-Level
  English as a foreign language SAT, GCSE, A-Level
  Media Studies SAT, GCSE, A-Level