Sarah W

back to the directory
£ 20.00-25.00 p/h

Hi, I'm Sarah and I am a recent graduate from the University of Bristol with first class honours in Zoology and I am now studying Veterinary medicine at the University of Nottingham. I am very passionate about biology, especially neurobiology, animal behaviour and parasitology. However, I found all the sciences extremely challenging throughout my school life and I myself benefited hugely from being tutored by older students who had recently been in a similar position but had a higher platform of understanding and knowledge. That is why I want to offer tutoring to students. I want to be able to make that difference and allow anyone to achieve their goals. I offer biology tutoring for Secondary school pupils including GCSE and A-level. I am happy to adapt the sessions to whatever the student what's to focus on whilst making the sessions fun and engaging. I am also happy to help/advise students going through the university application process, particularly those applying for veterinary medicine, in which i can help with interview preparation.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I like to make my sessions as interactive and engaging as possible. I will always ask the tutee what topics they would like to go over so that we can focus on those they are struggling most with. By asking questions it helps me to see if they are understanding the topic so I can go over it in more depth if needs be. I also like to incorporate exam-style questions as these are really important to make sure that the student can apply there knowledge.

What qualifications do you have?

A-levels: Biology (A), Geography (A), Chemistry (B) Degree: BSc Zoology (First class honours)

Tell us about your experience...

I have been tutoring A-level and GCSE Biology for 3 years.

What locations do you tutor in?

Sutton Bonington, Kegworth, Kingston on Soar, Long Whatton, Zouch, Hathern, Ratcliffe on Soar, Normanton on Soar, West Leake, Lockington, Diseworth,

What is your personal message to students?

I am a friendly and approachable individual looking to help you improve. I have had my own academic struggles and benefited greatly from having a tutor myself, so completely understand the difficulties students my be facing with their studies.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: NO
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Within 5 miles of Kegworth
Online tutor: I tutor via skype
Subjects: Biology A-level
  Biology GCSE