Sarah E

back to the directory
£ 30.00-40.00 p/h

I am a fully qualified teacher with 7 years of classroom experience. I have a Masters degree and a PGCE in which I was awarded a Distinction. I specialise in teaching UKS2 (Year 5 & 6) children and I am extremely well versed in preparing and tutoring children for their SATs papers as well as the 11+ tests. Due to partial school closures as a result of the lockdowns, I know that there are gaps in learning that some parents may feel concerned about. I have a wealth of experience in identifying gaps and targeting them so that children can feel more confident and successful. As I was teaching during the lockdown periods, I am highly competent in using Google Meet to deliver high quality lessons/tuition sessions to pupils- meaning that your child can be tutored from the comfort of your home. I will always ensure to tailor sessions to suit your child's learning needs and can also help to work on targets set by their teacher. I have experience with working with children who have learning barriers such as: dyscalculia and dyslexia. I can teach these children strategies to help them become more successful in their learning. Finally and most importantly, I will endeavour to make our sessions as engaging, productive and fun as I possibly can!

How would you describe your teaching style?

Through many years in the classroom, it's clear that there are many different ways that individual children learn best, therefore I like to tailor my teaching style in order to best cater to the learning needs of the children. I do have high expectations of the children I teach/tutor and I believe this to be very important as it creates a strong work ethic - something which is beneficial throughout life.

What qualifications do you have?

I have a Masters degree in which I got awarded Mastery in all units, as well as a PGCE in which I was awarded a Distinction

Tell us about your experience...

I have been teaching for 7 years and have only very recently left the classroom, therefore my knowledge of teaching strategies and methods is very up to date - this is important as what is being taught in schools can change like the wind! I have predominantly taught in Year 5 & 6 and so have an extremely thorough understanding of the end of year SATs tests in year 6, as well as the 11+ test. I have always produced excellent results which has seen children make good and for some accelerated progress. I currently tutor children who attend British schools overseas as I conduct my sessions using Google Meet. However, I am happy to be flexible and use whatever best suits my pupils. I was Maths lead at my most recent teaching job and so I have an excellent understanding of the Maths curriculum. I have also undergone writing moderations so I know exactly what is expected of children in order for them to meet their age related expectations. In terms of reading comprehensions - I am well equipped with strategies to help children improve their comprehension skills, etc.

What locations do you tutor in?

I currently live in Surrey, however as we can easily tutor remotely, I can tutor children all across the country.

What is your personal message to students?

I will make learning engaging, productive and purposeful so that you can feel confident and successful!

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: I tutor using Google Meet
Subjects: 11 Plus
  Primary Education Year 6 SATs and addressing gaps in learning across all year groups