Samuel L

back to the directory
£ 18.00-25.00 p/h

Hello I am Samuel, I am a big believer in learning through discourse. I aim to get students involved in discussion and feedback right from the off which, along with tasks to check for understanding, offer a more holistic approach to tutoring than traditional memory and copy based learning. I am happy to discuss this further if needed :) I have a BA and MA, both in History from the University of Bristol. I founded, run and contribute to my own website called Accessible History (https://listersam.wixsite.com/accessiblehistory) where I write accessible and free History articles designed for the general reader. I currently work as a Teaching Assistant at a South West London School and offer both classroom support as well as 1 to 1 and small group intervention. I am extremely passionate about History, English Language and English Literature and am happy to teach History from GCSE up to and including Undergraduate level and English from GCSE up to and including A Level.

How would you describe your teaching style?

My teaching style is holistic and encourages discourse and discussion between myself and the student. Every session will have tasks which check for understanding embedded within them and will form the basis of a student led discussion at the end of the session, as this will help to develop their critical faculties. For students working towards specific examinations and specific tasks the sessions will be geared towards these specifically and so will be more focused on exam technique. I am happy to discuss/explain these methods if needed.

What qualifications do you have?

I have a BA in History from the University of Bristol I have an MA in History from the University of Bristol I gained A* (History) A (Ancient History) A (Geography) at A level. I am working as a Teaching Assistant at a South West London School in the English Department. I designed, created and contribute towards my own website called 'Accessible History'. This is the link if you are interested (https://listersam.wixsite.com/accessiblehistory

Tell us about your experience...

I am currently working as a Teaching Assistant at a South West London School and I have significant sports coaching experience working with young people. I am an experienced historian and writer too as I have detailed in my profile.

What locations do you tutor in?

I would be looking to tutor remotely so any location works for me. I would only be available in evenings as well due to myself working full time at a school.

What is your personal message to students?

The most important thing about learning is to love learning and to be curious about always learning more. I aim to not make learning boring or just copying down lines. I want to get you (the student) involved in discussions as much as possible.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Enhanced Child Workforce DBS (Clean) 09/20
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: I Tutor via Zoom or Skype
Subjects: History GCSE/A Level/Undergraduate
  English GCSE/A Level