Samuel F

back to the directory
£ 20.00-30.00 p/h

My name is Samuel. I'm a PhD student in Food Engineering and also obtaining a teaching certification in Chemistry. I've been tutoring Math and Sciences for 5 years and my students have shown improvement on grades and confidence. I currently live in Brazil, but I teach English-speaking students worldwide.

How would you describe your teaching style?

My approach is to try to talk to the student first, to try to understand his or her struggles. And based on the answers i try to direct the class to the students goals and familiar topics. I like to ask the students to explain the question to me, so I can see if they really grasped the content.

What qualifications do you have?

I'm enrolled in obtaining a teacher license in Chemistry, I'll become a licensed teacher by the end of the year. I'm also a PhD student in Food and Agricultural Engineering. I've published two papers in international journals so far and now I'm working on the third. My research is related to the Environmental Management of aggro-industrial residues. I have a Master's in Food and Agricultural Engineering and a Bachelor in Chemical Engineering. All my degrees are from Unicamp (State University of Campinas) a very prestigious university in Brazil.

Tell us about your experience...

I've been tutoring since 2015, in Math, Chemistry, Physics, Engineering and Finance. I've taught students from Middle to Grad School, but most of my students are from High School and College. The students I've taught in a regular basis have shown improvement in grades and confidence.

What locations do you tutor in?

I tutor online

What is your personal message to students?

I really care if the student is learning, I really want to encourage the student to appreciate learning.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: No
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype
Subjects: Chemistry College; High School
  Maths College; High School
  Physics College; High School