Samantha M

back to the directory
£ 35.00-45.00 p/h

Hi, I am an English teacher in a secondary school with 12 years experience across the age ranges. I have spent some years teaching Year 6 and tutoring children through their SATs tests and I have taught English Literature and Language up to GCSE level. I also teach Mathematics as an intervention subject to pupils in Year 7 and 8 who need extra assistance in certain areas of the subject.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I approach each tutee with an individualistic style. I cater to their needs and styles of learning. The lessons are rich in discussion and enabling the tutee to think about what their strengths are. Lessons are planned to continue to build the strengths and close the gaps on the areas they need help in.

What qualifications do you have?

I have a BA Hons. (ed) 2:1 from the University of Cumbria gained in July 2010

Tell us about your experience...

I have taught reception, Year 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10. I am currently based in a secondary school delivering lessons in English through the key stages. I also teach Key Stage 3 (Year 7 and 8) Maths to an intervention group who are developing their skills in the subject in order to progress to attaining a grade 5 in their GCSE.

What locations do you tutor in?

I cover all of Havering but am willing to travel further out if desired.

What is your personal message to students?

I consider myself to be an approachable tutor and one who listens to the needs of you. I tailor my lessons according to what you would like to develop and can also help with assignments given at school. I will always approach each topic with your own school's methods in mind to ensure consistency and enable you to go back into the classroom and shine with your knowledge!

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: yes
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: Havering
Online tutor: No
Subjects: English GCSE
  Primary Education KS2 SATs
  Maths KS3 Year 8