Ruth E

back to the directory
£ 20.00-25.00 p/h

I am an experienced secondary and primary language specialist who offers tutoring for all levels from beginners to GCSE as well as A level French and Greek. I have a degree in French and Modern Greek and a diploma in Spanish as well as a PGCE in French and English as a Second Language. I can also offer English as a Foreign Language and Latin. I am able to teach all age groups including adults and teach from my home in the centre of Durham. I can travel to anywhere in Durham city and have a current DBS certificate.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I prefer to teach communicatively and encourage students to speak as much as possible. I also believe in the importance of grammar and enjoy explaining how language structures are used. I like to use games and activities when teaching.

What qualifications do you have?

I have a degree in French and Greek and a diploma in Spanish from the Instituto Cervantes issued by the University of Salamanca. I also have a PGCE in French and English as a Second Language.

Tell us about your experience...

I have taught in a range of Primary and Secondary schools in the UK, France and South Africa as well as doing some private tutoring and leading primary language afterschool clubs.

What locations do you tutor in?

I tutor in Durham.

What is your personal message to students?

I love languages and enjoy encouraging students to have the confidence to 'have a go' at communicating with others. I enjoy talking about the cultures of other countries and am a patient teacher who is interested in others.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes, DBS certificate
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: All parts of Durham city
Online tutor: No
Subjects: French A
  Spanish GCSE
  English as a foreign language GCSE
  Latin GCSE
  Greek A