Robin S

back to the directory
£ 40.00-50.00 p/h

I have 35 years experience teaching a variety of subjects from Maths to Drama to Swimming to students of all ages and abilities, including those with autism and/or learning disabilities. I have a 1st class honours degree in Maths/Physics from King`s College, London and a post-16 Maths teaching qualification. Much of my work is person-centred, exploring individual needs and interests as a route to support development. I bring this approach to tutoring Maths up to GCSE level, quickly establishing the main topics of interest and difficulty. I am able to support students` fears and anxieties with Maths, as well as to communicate Maths content clearly and effectively. Do get in touch if you`d like to find out more. Thanks! Robin

How would you describe your teaching style?

Person-centred, supportive, quickly focusing in on areas of difficulty while celebrating and building on areas of strength.

What qualifications do you have?

BSc Maths/Physics 1st class honours, King's College, University of London Certificate in Education to teach Maths at Further Education, post-16 level (a PGCE for 16+) MA Development Studies, SOAS, University of London

Tell us about your experience...

I achieved a 1st in Maths/Physics at King`s College London, gained a postgraduate Certificate in Further Education to teach Maths (essentially a PGCE for 16+), as well as an MA in Development Studies. For 8 years I taught Maths in adult education before moving to the learning disability field in which I have supported children and adults with a wide range of learning development needs, including Maths. I've been actively tutoring for a number of years both in-person and online. Students have ranged from Year 7 strugglers to Grade 9 high-achievers, some who have autism.

What locations do you tutor in?

I'm based at Clapham Junction, so anywhere within a half-hour journey from here. I can also tutor online if you prefer.

What is your personal message to students?

If you are struggling with any aspects of maths, or you have a specific target, do get in touch as I feel sure we can find a way to work together to achieve your aims.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Enhanced DBS Children and Adults
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: 5 miles from SW11
Online tutor: Zoom, Teams, Skype
Subjects: Maths KS3, GCSE, adult learners