Ren T

back to the directory
£ 15.00-22.00 p/h

Hi, I'm Ren! I am a First Class graduate of Hispanic Studies and Art History from the University of Kent. With a year studying in Alicante during my degree and 3 separate personal trips around Spain, I have a C1 level of Spanish. I am offering GCSE and A Level Spanish tutoring in my local area with the hopes of helping students to achieve the best grades they can, all whilst developing incredible language skills. I can't wait to hear from you

How would you describe your teaching style?

My teaching style is understanding and fair. As I am only recently out of education, I understand the pressure that students are put under by others and themselves to achieve. As I do not have teacher level access to current curriculums, I would approach each session asking the student to come to me with queries from their schooling since I last saw them and aim to help in any way I could through speaking, writing exercises and visual aids like YouTube videos/film. I will also take queries from each session into account when planning further sessions, coming prepared with the necessary exercises and resources.

What qualifications do you have?

First Class Bachelor of Arts with Honours degree in Hispanic Studies and Art History from The University of Kent, Canterbury

Tell us about your experience...

I have 9 month's worth of experience tutoring online in my final year of university. I mentored and taught a class of 10-15 Spanish A Level students fortnightly. I thoroughly enjoyed this opportunity as it gave me integral experience in planning lessons, taking students' difficulties into account and making sure that my explanation of vocabulary, grammar and sentence structures are clear and coherent. My experience with the Spanish language is over a decade long. I learnt Spanish from the age of 11 up to GCSE, achieving an A*. As I took to the language and learning about Spanish culture so well, I decided to take it further to A Level, where I achieved a B. I understood that learning a language close to fluency is so helpful in opening doors in the future, so I chose my degree at the University of Kent to study Spanish alongside my love of Art as a joint honours. I am proud to say I achieved a First in my degree and a C1 level of Spanish. During my time of Spanish language learning I have visited Spain 3 times with friends, travelling to Málaga, Granada, Valencia, Barcelona and Madrid. In my gap year I spent 3 weeks travelling around Costa Rica and Panama, an experience I'll never forget. I lived in Alicante for 7 months (a year studying for my degree, unfortunately cut short by the pandemic). With these incredible experiences in Spanish speaking countries, I feel confident in my abilities to teach the Spanish language to GCSE and A Level students, as well as engaging them with the various Hispanic cultures around the globe, something especially important when it comes to A Level Spanish learning.

What locations do you tutor in?

I will travel to towns in a 20 minute radius from Hindhead. Haslemere, Grayshott, Liphook, Liss, Bordon, Godalming, etc. I will also consider as far as Alton, Guildford, Petersfield, etc. for the higher end of my rating.

What is your personal message to students?

Learning a language can open so many experiences and opportunities in your life that you would never have expected. The benefits are endless as I have been able to watch so many more films, travel with ease to other parts of the world, study abroad, meet new people, experience new cultures. I will work hard with you to achieve the grade that you are hoping for, however, I hope you find importance in engaging yourself with another language and other cultures and just enjoy yourself along the way!

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: DBS checked October 2020
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: Hindhead, Liphook, Haslemere, Godalming, Liss, Bordon
Online tutor: I can tutor via Skype
Subjects: Spanish GCSE and A Level