Rebbeka R

back to the directory
£ 45.00-50.00 p/h

I am a DYSLEXIA SPECIALIST, offering multi-sensory one-to-one lessons to help improve your child's reading, writing, and spelling skills, and to boost their overall confidence while learning. I am a qualified Canadian primary school teacher with Qualified Teacher Status living in Southwest London. I have experience teaching in KS1 and KS2 classrooms in various schools throughout Greater London. I have over five years of SEN and dyslexia teaching and tutoring experience, including my certification in the Orton-Gillingham approach (dyslexia qualification), and my additional reading qualifications. I have an Honours B.A. in Developmental Psychology & Family and Social Relations, as well as a Bachelor of Education degree in Primary/Junior education. The majority of my teaching experiences involve working with children that have special educational needs, something I am truly passionate about.  Please let me know if you have any questions! I am here to help.

How would you describe your teaching style?

All children learn differently. I cater my lessons to each child's learning strengths in order to maximize their learning and increase their confidence. I believe it is important to meet the emotional and learning needs of every child, building a positive student-teacher rapport and giving them numerous opportunities to succeed during a lesson in order to build their confidence and self-esteem.

What qualifications do you have?

- Qualified Teacher Status (UK) - Orton-Gillingham Certification (Dyslexia specialist) - Bachelor of Education (Certified primary school teacher) - Honours BA Developmental Psychology & Family and Social Relations - Additional Qualifications in Reading - Teaching Qualification in secondary health and physical education - Professional TEFL Certification

Tell us about your experience...

* Teaching experience in KS1 and KS2 classrooms in various schools throughout Greater London * Over five years of SEN and dyslexia teaching and tutoring experience. * I have taught in Canada, Australia, Tanzania, and the United Kingdom.

What locations do you tutor in?

Generally, I tutor in areas close to Battersea (ie. Clapham, Chelsea, Fulham, Earlsfield), but please inquire if your location is not listed here. I also offer online lessons.

What is your personal message to students?

I care about your learning, and I am excited to see your confidence in reading, writing, and spelling grow! You can do this!

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: DBS
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Clapham, Chelsea, Fulham, Earlsfield (Please inquire if your location is not listed)
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype
Subjects:
  Dyslexia Specialist KS1, KS2