Rachel K

back to the directory
£ 20.00-30.00 p/h

Qualified secondary school teacher with long experience in primary, special needs and adult education. Many years as senior GCSE examiner. Have tutored many students successfully at all levels from early primary skills up to GCSE and can provide references to prove greatly improved performances. Can increase confidence, deliver skills and practise techniques needed to access the highest marks in exams. After raising a large family, I am understanding, patient and very encouraging to help struggling students. I very much enjoy working with students in a 1:1 setting and always try to make a difference by delivering a personalised learning programme.

How would you describe your teaching style?

Knowledgeable and informed on curriculum and texts I can use more creative and individual approaches to bring success. I have a gentle, encouraging and light approach. Always putting a lot of care and effort into my lesson planning I do all I can to help individuals.

What qualifications do you have?

BA Hons German (Leeds University) PGCE. A levels in English French and German

Tell us about your experience...

Very wide experience since beginning modern languages teaching in a comprehensive in London. After a return to teaching qualification diversified into primary and special needs ( much with autistic children and young adults) Taught about 15 years of supply teaching from daily on call work to several maternity cover posts. Taught from nursery and reception up to A levels but also supported our 5 children through to university, studying diverse subjects including Veterinary Medicine and Geography as well as languages, with some home education. More recently I have home tutored and worked 10 years as an adult Education tutor in Cambridge.This I do passionately, as I find it immensely rewarding to be able to help students who either want to learn or are struggling in some aspect of their education.

What locations do you tutor in?

Saffron Walden, Cambridge and surrounding villages. Will travel up to 15 miles and have availability on some weekday evenings and afternoons.

What is your personal message to students?

I am a driven and passionately keen educationalist . I enjoy my subjects tremendously and students find my energy and enthusiasm inspire their learning. I am also very efficient and creative in finding ways to explain,simplify and communicate, through many years of delivering the learning, so that many students have happily exceeded their own expectations as well as predicted grades and outcomes..

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Saffron Walden, south Cambridge and surrounding villages, south Cambidge and surrounding villages
Online tutor: No
Subjects: English GCSE
  German GCSE
  French GCSE
  Primary Education KS1 and 2