Paula S

back to the directory
£ 30.00-30.00 p/h

I live in Ashford Kent and I travel to your house to teach. I stopped full-time teaching after many happy and successful years to build my tutoring business and to share my extensive knowledge and experience through private tutoring as I would still like to make a difference in enabling children to achieve their full potential and to improve their levels. For tutoring, some children may be in need of curriculum catch-up, others may need their confidence building and some may need to prepare for the Kent test. I am very experienced in doing all of these either in short-term sessions or on a more long-term basis. Although I have taught all age groups, my teaching career also includes many years in Yr 5 and 6 which means I am experienced in the Literacy and Numeracy relevant to the 11+. From my previous 11+ tutoring, I am well acquainted with the content of the 11 plus exam and the strategies needed to succeed and I have the ability to prepare children for the demands of the test as well as up-levelling their writing and improving their maths and reading. For the Kent test, I will teach all of the types of Verbal Reasoning, Non-Verbal Reasoning and Spatial Reasoning using the best strategies for success and speed, find any gaps in English and maths content and prepare the tutee thoroughly for the 11+ exam. Whichever learning your child needs, I will make it fun.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I like to give an individualised approach to lessons as what suits one child doesn't necessarily suit another. I use a variety of learning methods including games, quizzes, consolidation sheets and whiteboard work to improve levels in English and maths or to practise for the Kent test.

What qualifications do you have?

Batchelor of Education. Many training courses done during my extensive teaching career.

Tell us about your experience...

I have many (almost 30) years of experience in Primary education both in London and Kent. During my career, I have achieved outstanding results both in the SATs and from OFSTED. In the first year of SPAG (spelling, punctuation and grammar tests) I achieved 100% level 4 and above and my class was the top in the area. I have experience of many cultures and children with special educational needs. I have been a tutor for 6 years.

What locations do you tutor in?

Ashford Kent

What is your personal message to students?

If you would like to improve your levels in English and/or maths or if you would like to prepare for the Kent test then choose me as your tutor. I will build your confidence and skills in an enjoyable way and I will plan sessions suited to you as an individual. Try it out - you've got nothing to lose.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes but can't find it Disclosure
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: Ashford kent
Online tutor: No
Subjects: 11 Plus Primary
  English Primary
  Maths Primary