Nina M

back to the directory
£ 40.00-40.00 p/h

English, History & Religious Studies Private Tutor Are you finding that you understand your lessons at school but then when its time for exams and coursework you are not getting the grades you expect? Your teacher is telling you you haven't answered the question, or that you are waffling in your essay. Sound familiar? If so, I can help. Through our lessons I will teach you a system that will give you the confidence and the tools to tackle any question no matter how challenging. Sound like what you are looking for? Contact me today.

How would you describe your teaching style?

My role as a tutor is to teach students how to tackle challenging material and engage with it in a meaningful way. I encourage all my students to be curious and to ask questions. No question is a silly question. Through enquiry, students are able to dig deeper into the subject and develop the skills necessary for exams and coursework. In each lesson students will learn how to develop their writing, critical and analytical thinking skills. These skills help students understand how to approach exam questions coursework, and structure relevant answers, no matter what is thrown at them.

What qualifications do you have?

BA (Hons) 2:1 Degree in the Study of Religions and Theology from University of Manchester (2014)

Tell us about your experience...

I have been a private tutor since graduating from university in 2014. My academic career began at an international secondary school, I took the International Baccalaureate with Higher Level English, History and Visual Arts and my extended essay discussed whether the church is a building or it’s people. After a gap year, during which I worked for a charity and travelled in India and Europe, I attended the University of Manchester. Upon completion I was awarded a 2:1 in the Study of Religions & Theology. Since 2014 my professional career has varied including running a food business, content writing, web design (came in handy for making this one), marketing and more. In my spare time I am setting up a research and consulting business providing consumer insights for the Free-From food industry. Tutoring is a personal passion. I enjoy teaching; diving into academic study and showing students how rich it can be. We tackle challenging material unravelling its intricacies then analysing its ideas. The techniques I teach my students are tried and tested methods I’ve used for the last 10 years. Through my lessons all students make improvements, for example: 2018: One student in particular made massive improvements. She was studying for a her GCSEs and struggling. Her History and Religion marks were stuck at 56%. After 6 months of lessons she jumped to a massive 85% in her GCSE mocks! Needless to say, she, her parents and I were very happy! 2019: GCSE History student, with only 8 weeks of lessons, went from expecting a 5-6 to achieving an 8! GCSE Religious Studies student, with 5 months of lessons, went from getting 6-7 to achieving a 9!!

What locations do you tutor in?

I tutor in the Liverpool area, including but not limited to: Merseyside Bootle Crosby Waterloo Kirkby Knowsley Maghull Litherland Ormskirk Formby

What is your personal message to students?

Dear students, Exams can feel incredibly stressful, and almost like a life and death situation. Having lived through it, and now working, I can tell you it doesn't have to be life and death. The tools you learn at school can be incredibly helpful later, such as how to research, how to solve problems and especially how to think critically. Although this won't seem relevant to you now. If you are looking for guidance on preparing for your exams I can help. My lessons are not for every student. If you want to achieve results, willing to work hard, put in the effort and be challenged then my lessons are for you. If this is acceptable to you, or you have any questions, get in touch to book your first lesson. Nina

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: Liverpool, Kirkby, Maghull, Crosby, South Liverpool, Merseyside, Knowlesley
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype or FaceTime
Subjects: English GCSE, A-Level, IB
  English as a foreign language Beginner - Advanced
  History GCSE, A-Level, IB
  Religious Studies GCSE, A-Level, IB
  Philosophy GCSE, A-Level, IB