Nerijus S

back to the directory
£ 20.00-40.00 p/h

I am a seasoned private mathematics tutor since 2016, and a recent Master of Mathematics (MMath) graduate from Loughborough University holding a strong first-class honours degree. In October 2020, I am starting my PhD in Applied Mathematics for which I have secured a 4-year scholarship. Over the years, I have tutored for 400+ hours including in-school experience working with GCSE students. Every student whom I had taught privately has went on to achieve A/A* grade in their Maths GCSE or A-Level qualification. Undergraduate students who I have taught have seen a rise in their average grade, often reaching a high 2:1 / 1st. I am based in Sheffield therefore in-person tuition is available only if you live within a 15 mile radius of Sheffield. However, I can tutor anyone online and this has been the more popular option. To ensure success, I procide weekly homework based on a topic we discuss. I provide key knowledge and facts which are fundamental in understanding difficult concepts. Please get in touch if you seek tuition in Maths. I provide a free 30-minute trial, and further discounts are also available when you book with me.

How would you describe your teaching style?

My teaching style is very much interactive. When we work through questions, I like to guide you and asking leading questions. The best way to learn is to answer the questions yourself, and I try to get you to do that! Of course, sometimes it is just too difficult to answer certain questions, and this is where I come in. I build on fundamental principles and ideas to show you how a particular question should be tackled, what should be considered, and how to ensure full marks are received. The weekly homework I set aim to deepen your knowledge by providing you with key facts, ideas, and approaches mixed in with plenty of practice questions whereby some of them are solved by myself to give you an example of what is expected.

What qualifications do you have?

My qualifications include: - Integrated Masters (MMath - Master of Mathematics) degree from Loughborough University, 2016-2020 - 3 A-Levels: A* in Maths, A* in Business Studies, and B in Further Maths. - 9 GCSE's including A in Maths and B in English.

Tell us about your experience...

Initially, I began as a non-profit tutor in my own school where I tutored Year 8-11 students, and this involved boosting their confidence in the subject as well as providing new ways to approach problems and solve them. While this opportunity was not as long-term as others, the improvement of the students was clear-cut. Their algebra got much better over time, they started to think laterally about problems, and the topics which once haunted them were no longer an obstacle. Throughout university, I decided to begin tutoring and help many struggling GCSE, A-Level, and university students get to grips with their mathematics, and be confident that they are more than able to achieve the highest possible grade in their examinations. In summer of 2016, after some tutoring experience and receiving my A-Level results, I decided to become a part-time tutor. In turn, I have signed up to several tutoring websites, and slowly began tutoring students in their own homes as well as online. In the most recent academic year 2019-2020, I had the pleasure of tutoring three students on a regular basis. One of which was a Y1 / AS Maths student, another was a Y2 / A2 Maths student, and the third was a second-year university student studying a Mathematics & Statistics course. In the years prior, I had some unique experiences as well. In 2017, I was granted two opportunities; one of which was to work with an outreach programme titled ‘PATHWAYS Project’ run by a partnership of Leicestershire Universities. This involved being properly trained to be a tutor (safeguarding, teaching approaches, various scenario handling) before being sent off to tutor at two different schools every week. The tutoring largely involved the same approach as before, but now I was able to build more rapport with my tutees, and I often created revision material tailored to the specific students which I tutored. At these schools, I often tutored a small group of students (2-4) which were identified by the schools to require the most improvement in the subject. The second opportunity was ultimately the same, but run by Loughborough University closer to the exam season, whereby I was sent to help tutor larger groups of students as part of their final revision push before exams in the Swadlincote area. All this has given me plenty of experience and teaching knowledge that I apply to every session I run. In total, I have tutored for over 400 hours in the last few years. My teaching style has also been refined over this period, and I usually like to dedicate first sessions to building rapport with my tutees, discussing which topics they want to focus on, how confident they are at the beginning of tutoring, and then plan my lessons in advance accordingly. Occasionally, I like to ask for small, informal feedback in the sessions to make sure my tutees are happy with the service they are provided. This is to ensure that I do not go too fast or too slow, and that we don’t leave behind any misunderstood topics.

What locations do you tutor in?

I teach online. I also teach in-person for anyone who is in Sheffield, Chesterfield, Dronfield, Rotherham, and surrounding areas.

What is your personal message to students?

Mathematics has a bad reputation for being 'too hard' and it is very easy to get stuck on a problem and not invest too much thinking time into it. The best way to learn this subject is by firstly ensuring that they theory is understood fully, and then investing a significant amount of time to practicing questions. It's absolutely OK to be stuck on a problem and ask for help; whether that be your teacher, or myself as your tutor. It is also OK to put a problem down and come back to it with a fresher mind -- this enforces individual learning and students who do this tend to have a better retention of the content, and any mistakes they have made.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: No
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Within a 15 mile radius of Sheffield
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype and/or Zoom
Subjects: Maths Primary, GCSE, A-Level, Undergraduate, Admissions
  11 Plus Primary
  Further Maths GCSE, A-Level, Admissions