Ned R

back to the directory
£ 40.00-55.00 p/h

I have 7 years experience as a tutor, teaching GCSE and A-level English - my student achieved an A* and gained a place at Cambridge - and also English and Maths from age 7 to 11. I have experience working towards the Harrow entrance exam, and my pupil was offered a place. I have a BA in English and Philosophy (Starred First) and an MA (First) in Film and Literature from the University of York. I aim to create a very encouraging and friendly environment, one that is both relaxed and studious. I have found through experience this brings out the best in the students. Please email for enquiries.

How would you describe your teaching style?

Encouraging, friendly and personable. I aim to create both a relaxed and studious environment. I have found through experience this brings out the best in the students. I am passionate about English and enjoy conveying and communicating this passion to the students, who may find the subject difficult, or uninteresting.

What qualifications do you have?

BA (starred first) in English and Philosophy from the University of York MA (first) in Film/Literature from the University of York

Tell us about your experience...

I have been tutoring for 7 years, principally English at all ages up to A-level, and also undergraduate essay advice. I taught one pupil through GCSE, and A-levels, who was struggling with the subject and she achieved an A* in both exams and a place at Cambridge. I have taught primary school students, specifically towards the 11-plus, and other entrance exams (English, non-verbal and verbal reasoning) and my student gained a place at Harrow.

What locations do you tutor in?

I am based in Finsbury Park and am happy to travel anywhere Central, North or East London - if not in these areas do still enquire as I can tutor from home if necessary.

What is your personal message to students?

I look forward to working with you, and sharing some of my passion for English and learning!

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: No
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Central, North, and East London
Online tutor: No
Subjects: 11 Plus
  English Up to A-Level
  Maths Up to 11 Plus
  History Up to GCSE