Michael P

back to the directory
£ 30.00-45.00 p/h

I have 8 years experience tutoring mathematics and science. I'm a qualified science teacher with a physics specialism which I teach to A-level. I studied Engineering and hold a Masters Degree (MEng). I've tutored students from all backgrounds; academies, grammar schools and top Public schools like Dulwich College and St Paul's. I charge £30 ph online and £45 ph in person. I offer a significant discount for 2+ hours. I'm happy to teach two students at a time for the same cost which makes the service much more affordable. This has been very successful with customers who have known families who are also looking for a tutor. I am happy to teach larger groups and can negotiate the rate.

How would you describe your teaching style?

Traditional but friendly. I explain an discuss topics with students and get them to read it as well. I then let them answer questions and solve problems. I encourage them to answer as many questions as they can. To encourage thinking and independence, I might not simply give the answer but rather give a clue or even tell them to think harder!

What qualifications do you have?

I'm a qualified teacher (QTS). I have a Masters Degree in engineering. I qualified in 2014 with a 4 year Masters degree in Material Science and Engineering from Queen Mary University of London, a Russel Group University.

Tell us about your experience...

Tutored for 8 years, including around 18 months full time. Qualified teacher with 4 years experience. Tutored all secondary age groups (11-18) Supported many students with University Applications and UCAS.

What locations do you tutor in?

Beckhenham, Bromley, Eltham, Addiscome, Croydon

What is your personal message to students?

Students enjoy my sessions and feel like they get a lot out of them. Some students just want their target grade in the qualification. Others want a much deeper understanding in order to take the subject further. I can help both. I have taught individuals 1-1, small group interventions and whole classes.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: DBS - Enhanced Certificate
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: Beckenham, Eltham, Addiscombe, & Central Croydon
Online tutor: I can tutor via Zoom.
Subjects: Physics GCSE - A level
  Maths Secondary including GCSE
  Science Secondary including GCSE