Melanie C

back to the directory
£ 15.00-25.00 p/h

*** Due to recent developments with COVID-19 I am now offering ONLINE tuition only *** I am an enthusiastic tutor (and student) in my third year of studying a Maths degree at the University of Warwick. I achieved a First Class grade during my second year.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I adapt my methods to suit my students' learning styles and needs and explain in detail in order to allow them to truly understand the topic rather than spoon feeding methods. I encourage my students and use creative memorisation techniques. I believe: - each student is unique in the way they understand concepts - in learning using examples as some advanced concepts can be abstract - the best way to improve is to have an in depth understanding and to put in lots of practice hours. For language tuition, I firmly believe in practice over theory as well as immersive learning. I encourage my students to watch TV shows and film in the target language as this is not only great immersion but an insight into culture.

What qualifications do you have?

BSc Mathematics - University of Warwick (2020) I took both Computer Science GCSE and A Level at A*/A grades, and have taught this in the past. I will be starting a Masters in Computer Science at UCL in September. I also taught English as a second language for a month in Italy to children/teenagers during the summer of 2018. I hold a TEFL.TP (Teaching English as a Foreign Language through Theatre and Play). I am natively bilingual in English and Mandarin, and am exploring opportunities to teach Mandarin as a foreign language. I achieved A*/A grades in Chinese GCSE and AS Level.

Tell us about your experience...

I am extremely familiar with the primary and secondary curriculums as well as the university admissions system. I have 3 Maths A Levels at A*/A grades, a grade 1 in STEP I (University maths admissions test) as well as 5 years of experience being a personal tutor. I've had around 35 students ranging from primary to adult learners.

What locations do you tutor in?

Online only due to COVID-19

What is your personal message to students?

Perseverence, Practice and Patience

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: No
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: Via Skype or Facetime
Subjects: Maths Any up to A Level
  Computing Any up to A Level
  Mandarin Beginner
  English as a foreign language Any