Masooma A

back to the directory
£ 25.00-30.00 p/h

I have over 25 years experience teaching primary age children of all abilities, including those with special educational needs. My speciality is teaching English, Maths and preparation for High School entrance exams. I am also experienced in teaching students new to the English language. I enjoy teaching and have the highest expectations of pupils. My passion is in developing pupils' self-esteem, which I believe is paramount in their education and general well being.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I am approachable and like to make my students feel comfortable, where they are not afraid to make mistakes. During my long career as a teacher, I have used a wide range of teaching and learning strategies to suit learners of all abilities. I am patient and encouraging, tailoring my teaching to meet the needs of all students in order to prepare them for examinations or to boost their confidence and self-esteem with their learning. For adult learners, I can help students to become effective communicators, both in their verbal and written communications, in order for them to begin to integrate in their surroundings.

What qualifications do you have?

Post Graduate Certificate in Education – Manchester University Biochemistry MSc Biochemistry BSc

Tell us about your experience...

I have taught for 19 years as a classroom teacher across different primary year groups (Year 3 to Year 6). For 2 of those years, I was teaching Year 5 children in an international school abroad. I have also taught as an EAL teacher, working with children who are either new to English or are at an early stage in their English acquisition. During my teaching career, I have successfully tutored students on a one–to–one basis. This has been to either help them with exam preparations or to raise the self-confidence and achievement of those students who have been struggling with their school work.

What locations do you tutor in?

I tutor from my home in Didsbury.

What is your personal message to students?

Hello! Whatever your needs, whether it is understanding your homework or following the lessons in school, I am here to help. It will give me great pleasure in helping you reach your full potential, by teaching you in a friendly way to make you understand and progress quickly. Although I have very high expectations of all my students, you will definitely enjoy your lessons and look forward to your next lesson.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes CRB
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: No
Subjects: English Upper KS1 and all KS2
  Maths Upper KS1 and all KS2
  English as a foreign language English Beginners (adults and children)
  11 Plus Verbal Reasoning, Non-Verbal Reasoning