Manfred O

back to the directory
£ 50.00-75.00 p/h

The reason why I tutor is that I believe that there is nothing more rewarding and meaningful in life than using the talents and skills we have towards helping others and impacting their lives for the better. Like Buddha said: “happiness comes when you put your life at the service of others”

How would you describe your teaching style?

During my tutoring sessions, I focus on solving past papers, revising the syllabus in-depth, working with different literature and resources, and developing stronger exam sitting techniques. Through a patient, versatile and kind yet firm approach, I help my students develop their true potential, build their overall confidence, and achieve their goals.

What qualifications do you have?

I hold a bachelor's degree in Mechanical Engineering and a bachelor's degree in popular music performance.

Tell us about your experience...

I have gathered extensive experience (2500+ hours of tuition) as a private tutor in the Greater London area since 2014. My tutoring experience has ranged all the way from last-minute one-off exam preparation sessions to several months' tuition agreements on a vast variety of subjects. Last year I completed a six-month private tuition contract where I worked as a private A level Maths and Physics tutor for a prestigious family in Dubai, preparing their son for his A levels this year. I worked for this family since January 2019, carrying out tutoring sessions every day including weekends, working on past papers, revising the syllabus in-depth, and working with different literature. I have helped prepare students for IB Maths SL exams both online and face-to-face and I have helped prepare a student for his MAT exam. Moreover, I have successfully prepared various of my students for their Maths IGCSE/GCSEs (both higher and foundation tiers) and I have predominantly worked with exam board Edexcel; however, I have also worked with AQA and Cambridge boards among others. Moreover, I have successfully prepared various of my students for their 13+ and 11+ common entrance exams including St. Pauls, Sevenoaks and Godolphin & Latymer and I have just solidified a tuition agreement with a family based in the UK to tutor and support both their children for the whole of the next academic year, as they start 13+ level education at Eaton Square Upper School. Furthermore, I have consistently worked as an online tutor as well over the past three years. Providing tuition in A-level Maths and Physics, A-Level statistics and Mechanics, IB Maths SL, GCSE Physics and Maths, and more. Moreover, some of my online tutoring experiences include preparing an engineering student for his Fluid and Solid Mechanics module exam this summer, providing online A level Maths tuition for a student who was aiming to get a confidence boost over the Easter break aiming to achieve a better preparation for the A level exams this year. This is the list of subjects I have managed to specialize in: 11+ Maths: ISEB and public school entrance exams 13+ Maths & Science: ISEB and public school entrance exams (I)GCSE Maths: AQA, CIE, Edexcel, OCR, and WJEC. (I)GCSE Physics: AQA, CIE, Edexcel, OCR, and WJEC A-level Maths: AQA, CIE, Edexcel, OCR, and WJEC A-level Physics: AQA, CIE, Edexcel, OCR, WJEC, and Pre-U

What locations do you tutor in?

London Zones 1 & 2 predominantly. I am willing to tutor in zone 3 provided the extra transport costs are covered by the client and my fee increased accordingly.

What is your personal message to students?

I believe in Mastery Learning as an instructional strategy, in the sense that every student regardless of their styles and skills, is able to achieve a high level of achievement in a given subject provided they are given enough time.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: Zone 2/3
Online tutor: Zoom / Skype
Subjects: Maths 13+ / GCSE / A level / IB
  Physics 13+ / GCSE / A level / IB