Madeleine P

back to the directory
£ 20.00-30.00 p/h

I am a passionate music student based in Surrey starting a musicology masters at Kings College London in September, having just finished my undergraduate music degree at Bristol University. I am able to teach piano, violin and music theory from beginner to advanced level, in a way that will suit your ability and learning style.

How would you describe your teaching style?

Specifically with regards to teaching Music Theory and instrumental lessons I tend to follow the ABRSM Syllabus as it is in my opinion, the clearest and most successful. I can also introduce more modernised and contemporary songs such as film music and pop songs, for more casual learning experiences or just recreational musical learning. Whether you are better suited to playing your favourite songs/film music or a more classical and traditional method following the ABRSM syllabus, it is completely up to you! I can teach many different styles such as pop, classical, romantic, baroque and to people of all ages.

What qualifications do you have?

I have a music degree from the University of Bristol, I graduated this year (2021). I am starting a musicology masters at King's College London in September.

Tell us about your experience...

I would consider myself an outgoing, enthusiastic and friendly teacher but most importantly, having played the piano and violin since 6, I am passionate about music and I have confidence that this comes across in my teaching. Having taught pupils of all ages, I understand that encouragement and patience is essential when learning an instrument and I find forming a friendly relationship with the pupil really aids their progress.

What locations do you tutor in?

I can travel 3 miles outside of the post code listed, or teach online.

What is your personal message to students?

Music is the most accessible and sociable language we have, I like to have fun with it and encourage as many people as possible to have an element of music in their life. It is the best therapy!

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: No
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype, zoom, FaceTime
Subjects: Music Professional
  Piano Beginner - professional