Lisa M

back to the directory
£ 40.00-40.00 p/h

Hello, I'm Lisa, and I've been teaching and tutoring Maths and the Sciences since 2010. Please note that all tuition is online until at least July 2022. I have an excellent track record of boosting student grades. After gaining my BSc in 1995 I worked in industry, gaining my MSc on the way, until starting my teacher training in 2009. I later completed the Diploma in Teaching and Learning in the Lifelong Learning Sector (DTLLS) at the University of Warwick in 2014 and Qualified Tutor's Level 3 Award in Tutoring in 2021. I have Qualified Teacher Status, an Enhanced DBS and a level 3 Safeguarding Certificate.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I aim to develop enjoyment and confidence in the subject by using a problem-solving approach to exam questions in which I provide a supportive environment for students to work things out for themselves as much as possible. This is the best way to encourage deep learning. If working towards an exam we will work closely with the syllabus and past exam papers to target revision in the most effective way, paying particular attention to what is needed to jump over the next grade boundary.

What qualifications do you have?

July 2014 Diploma in Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector - Level 5, The University of Warwick, delivered through Worcester College of Technology (Pass) May 2010 Cambridge Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults and Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector, Hammersmith College, London (Pass) June 2002 MSc Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, King's College London (Merit) June 1995 BSc (Hons) Computer Science and Management Studies,, Royal Holloway University of London (Upper Second)

Tell us about your experience...

The first four years of my teaching career were spent teaching Maths at Key Stage 3, GCSE, A-level, Functional Skills and university access level at an international school. I then spent three years teaching Maths part-time at the local Further Education College and doing long-term cover for the three Sciences at GCSE and A-level. During that time I started private tuition in Maths and the Sciences. Since 2013 I have successfully tutored over seventy students at KS3, GCSE and A-level, and for university entrance examinations such as STEP, MAT and TMAU. Since September 2017 I have provided intervention groups, intensive revision courses and one-to-one tuition for local schools and colleges at GCSE and A-level alongside my private tuition work. Online experience: Since moving my tuition online in March 2020, I have tutored about thirty students in Maths and Sciences. Having tried several options, my favoured platform is BitPaper (bitpaper.io) which is a free online whiteboard where I can cut and paste in questions or other activities which can then be "written" on by the student via a laptop or tablet using a mouse, stylus or keyboard. This is used at the same time as Zoom for audio and/or video. However, for students without fast broadband or a microphone, a simple phone call at the same time is often easier. Some students prefer to copy down a question, then take a photo with their phone and send it to me using Zoom. I aim to be as flexible as possible and am happy to adapt my choice of platform to student requirements and the technology they have available.

What locations do you tutor in?

Online

What is your personal message to students?

Develop your skills and confidence with an experienced, patient teacher.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes, Enhanced DBS
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: I tutor via Zoom and BitPaper. Can also use Skype.
Subjects:
  Maths KS3, GCSE, A-level
  Chemistry GCSE, A-level
  Biology GCSE, A-level
  Physics GCSE, A-level