Lily L

back to the directory
£ 25.00-50.00 p/h

I am a qualified Maths teacher, having participated in the Teach First programme 2017-2019, gaining a PGCE in Secondary Mathematics Education from the Institute of Education, UCL, and have taught maths across KS3 and GCSE. Prior to becoming a teacher, I studied at the London School of Economics and hold a BSc in Economics and Economic History. I am passionate about education and teaching maths. Maths is such a useful subject and can be applied to all aspects of our lives, however it is sometimes a very tricky subject to access due to its cumulative nature. If a crucial part is missed, then a student may struggle to grasp everything that follows and give up. Given that there are so many ways to explain the same concept, what works for one student may not make sense for another, and that is why just a short time spent one-to-one can have huge benefits for a student. One of the biggest challenges in teaching maths is that it is very binary - either students 'get it' or not. Both the student and the teacher sometimes need to be persistent until they have that 'eureka' moment where it makes sense. As a tutor, I know the importance of being patient, and I am always prepared to explain the same concept in several different ways. Moreover, it is important to me to help my students develop the necessary metacognitive skills ('thinking about thinking') to become effective problem solvers and independent learners. Outside of academia, I have taught sailing and trained teams for ocean rowing expeditions, and found this extremely rewarding. I recently took a career break to row across the Pacific Ocean as part of a team of four women, setting a new world record in the process. I learned a huge amount about what it means to be resilient, and hope to share this with my students in the context of mathematics.

How would you describe your teaching style?

What qualifications do you have?

Tell us about your experience...

What locations do you tutor in?

What is your personal message to students?

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Travel within 20 miles of Burnham on Crouch
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype and Zoom
Subjects: Economics A Level
  Maths GCSE