Lauryn M

back to the directory
£ 18.00-22.00 p/h

I am a student at the University of Glasgow working on a joint honours degree in English Literature and Philosophy, in the hope of becoming an English teacher in a secondary school upon completion. I love furthering my own studies and am passionate about helping others do the same: I want to use my own experience to help students reach their goals and improve their attainment.

How would you describe your teaching style?

My teaching style varies amongst students; I will always create personalised lessons which will suit the student’s learning style. Using the curriculum, I use creativity to engage students with the course and to foster a great learning environment. Depending on the level, past papers will be used to encourage great exam techniques.

What qualifications do you have?

English: I an currently working towards an honours degree Advanced Higher - A Higher - A Standard Grade - 1 In total, I have achieved 7 highers between grades A - C, 1 Intermediate 2 at grade A and 7 Standard Grades at grades 1 - 2.

Tell us about your experience...

I am experienced in working with children through several voluntary roles, such as a Girls' Brigade officer and a dance teacher assistant. I have completed courses in training through my employment and am confident training adults on skills and procedures needed for the job.

What locations do you tutor in?

I am based in Hamilton and can tutor from my own home, and can also travel to your home within Lanarkshire and Glasgow.

What is your personal message to students?

If you have goals you would love to work towards, I can help you reach them. If you are struggling or unsure on what goals you should be aiming for, I can help you set realistic goals that will allow you to develop skills in English that can also be beneficial for other subjects. Please get in touch if you have any questions and I would be happy to answer them for you... I can't wait to meet you and get started!

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: No
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: North & South Lanarkshire, Glasgow.
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype or your preferred online channel
Subjects: English primary
  English secondary - 1st & 2nd year
  English intermediate 1 & 2
  English all national levels
  English higher
  English advanced higher