Lauren E

back to the directory
£ 15.00-30.00 p/h

Hello. My name is Lauren Edmonds and I am currently working as a part-time Teaching Assistant in a Primary School. I am now looking to become a tutor for children at Primary School age, to give them extra support on the main curricular subjects; English, Maths and Science. I have worked in Year 1 and Year 2 and have very good experience with Year 2 SATs. I am a confident and bubbly character and I enjoy finding different ways for children to learn to achieve their best potential. Some children learn best through concrete objects rather than multiple worksheets, so I aim to make my lessons fun and engaging.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I like to adapt my teaching style to meet the needs of the individual student I am teaching, as children learn in many different ways. I would describe my teaching style as fun and engaging, and I often use real life concrete objects to help with the understanding of the subject e.g. using real life money instead of worksheets.

What qualifications do you have?

I have a Level 3 in Childcare Learning and Development, which has allowed me to become a Teaching Assistant. I have also completed my Early Years Foundation Degree, and I am due to begin my top-up course this September, to attain my full degree in Education.

Tell us about your experience...

I have worked as a Teaching Assistant for 8 years now. I have mainly worked with ages 4-8, and have spent majority of my years in Year 2; so I have a lot of knowledge in regards to Year 2 SATs. I am very confident with the national curriculum. As part of my role as a Teaching Assistant, I often work with students in small groups or in 1:1 roles to help give them the support needed to achieve their full potential. Therefore, I am used to finding various ways to teach an individual so that they can understand subjects easier e.g. using games, videos, real life objects to help children learn. I have also worked closely with SEND students, including a 1:1 role for an individual with Autism.

What locations do you tutor in?

Kings norton, Kings Heath, Sellyoak, Bournville, Northfields, Longbridge, Redditch, Bromsgrove.

What is your personal message to students?

Learning can be fun! There is always a way to be able to understand a subject, you’ve just got to find your own way. I would be very happy to use my experience in working in a school to help you to achieve your full potential. I promise to make our lessons engaging and give you a voice in your own learning.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes I have a DBS
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: Kings Norton, Kings Heath, Maypole, Northfield, Sellyoak, Redditch, Bromsgrove
Online tutor: No
Subjects: English Primary
  Maths Primary
  Science Primary school level