Kevin M

back to the directory
£ 15.00-30.00 p/h

I have had a rich and varied career, and am now committed to guiding other people to reach their potential and beyond.

How would you describe your teaching style?

Nurturing and encouraging

What qualifications do you have?

For music I have a Grade 8 in guitar from the Royal School of Music and a Grade 5 in music theory I also have an MBA from EU Business School, an MA in Creative Writing from Sussex University, and a BA in Film & Literature

Tell us about your experience...

I am an experienced tutor and trainer in five distinct areas. I carefully assess every client's needs and guide them to where they want to go. I am a professional teacher of: Mandarin-Chinese: I have years of teaching experience and can speak, read, write and sing Chinese to a high level. I have prepared students for exams and received consistently positive reviews. In China, I spent four years at Midea Group, a Fortune 500 company, where I often helped with translation and bilingual internal communications. Guitar: I got qualified to teach guitar when I was 20 and have done it ever since. I can teach classical, rock, pop, folk and more, to prepare for exams, or just for fun. My solo guitar videos and self-penned songs in both Chinese and English have gained tens of thousands of hits online. Creative Writing: I have had short stories published around the world, studied under numerous award-winning authors, written critically-acclaimed songs, and have gained experience as a literary translator. I focus on both the micro and macro aspects of writing, and show minute attention to detail in helping writers satisfy their ambitions. Essay Writing: I have an MBA from EU Business School, with the highest possible grade, and have written for such world-class publications as The Los Angeles Review of Books, Open Democracy, and Fair Observer. I specialise in helping students get their message across in ways that are both creative and effective. English as a Second Language: Teaching English in China was my first job after university and I have acquired thousands of hours of experience. I am currently guiding clients through both IELTS and the Life in the UK Test. My writing, in Chinese, about China has been the subject of features in China Daily and Guangdong Television. More links to my work and excellent references are available upon request. 我也很会帮人准备Life in the UK Test 考试, 如果你需要人帮你准备参加这个考试那请联系我

What locations do you tutor in?

I can teach online or anywhere in the Greater Manchester area.

What is your personal message to students?

Drop me a message to discuss what you want to achieve

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor:
Online tutor: I teach both online and offline
Subjects: English as a foreign language Adult, IELTS, and Life in the UK
  Music Guitar
  Mandarin Beginner to Upper Immediate