Katy V

back to the directory
£ 30.00-40.00 p/h

I have been tutoring Maths, History and Philosophy since 2011 (over 10 years). I have tutored GCSE, A-Level and professional level maths as well as A-Level history and philosophy. My students have had great success and have gone on to university or even take the subject further than they thought they would. I taught in schools for years, then tutored full-time. Now I work a 9 - 5 job, so my tutoring spaces are limited. I hold 2 Master's degrees, one in the Philosophy of Mathematics and one in History.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I like to focus on areas that the student in struggling with. I begin by assessing their needs and working on sections of the syllabus that need work. Many of my students I work with for long periods (sometimes years) and I set out a timetable that will fit in with their exams.

What qualifications do you have?

I have a BA and 2 MAs, focusing on History, Maths and Philosophy.

Tell us about your experience...

I have years of school experience, as well as over 10 years tutoring. Over this time I have had 20 or so students, many of which are now doing further studies or have passed their exams.

What locations do you tutor in?

I tutor online, but for adult students I am happy to meet in a coffee shop in central or East London.

What is your personal message to students?

My personal message is that I am laid back but also strict - I like my students to take their studies seriously, because I take teaching them seriously! I always get on with my students of all ages and I like to feel that they are comfortable around me!

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: I can tutor via Zoom or Google Hangouts
Subjects: Maths A Level +
  History A Level +
  Philosophy A Level +