Kat F

back to the directory
£ 35.00-50.00 p/h

Hi, I’m Kat and I offer Science Tutoring for students in Years 5-13 and also for Adult Learners. I am friendly, fully qualified and experienced. I am able to cover a wide range of levels and exams. Most of my tutoring has moved online in the last year and this has been very successful - also great for the planet as it saves us travelling to meet up! My lessons are fun and interactive and I listen to what you need in terms of support. If Science is giving you a headache or you are stressing out over exams and assignments then get in touch and see how I can help - I am here for you!

How would you describe your teaching style?

I am an enthusiastic and approachable tutor who makes an effort to get to know my students as individuals so that I can provide them with a bespoke service tailored to their specific needs. I try to make activities fun and interactive, putting the abstract concepts into real life contexts and viewing problems from different angles. My students like my friendly and caring attitude, supporting them through the challenges and praising them for their efforts. We work as a team to identify areas of strength and weakness and try out different approaches to conquer the obstacles we come across on our learning journey. I can support you with a range of strategies that include: Teaching new concepts or reviewing Topics you have covered in lessons Revision and Exam techniques and ways to improve your grades Help with Homework, Assignments and Assessments Catching up on work missed due to absences Additional Support for students with SEND or who have been Home-schooled Mastering the GCSE Required Practicals or IB Internal Assessments

What qualifications do you have?

I am a qualified Secondary Science Teacher with 18+ years experience teaching in mainstream, private schools and tutoring. Teaching KS3 & GCSE Sciences, A Level Biology, International Baccalaureate Biology Standard/Higher Level & Chemistry Standard Level. I've been Head of KS4 Science and Head of Science Department. I love working with young people, sharing my passion for the Sciences. As an expert in the field I now work exclusively with students as a private tutor, mainly online on a 1:1 basis, providing guidance and support for students who struggle with Science or are anxious about Exams.

Tell us about your experience...

I have a lifelong love of learning and achieved 10 A grades when I did my GCSE’s – back then there was no A*. When I was 16 I became a member of MENSA. I went on to take A levels in Biology, Chemistry & Geography, then to the University of Bath to study Biochemistry and The Natural Sciences. I have PGCSE Teaching Qualification, am an Accredited Teacher Trainer and a Fellow of the UFA. I was selected from UK teachers to go to Florida for teacher training with NASA at Kennedy Space Centre - an awesome experience! I met Astronauts and Flight Technicians and did training in their Education Centre.

What locations do you tutor in?

Mainly Online via Zoom, but can do face to face in South Hams, Paignton, Torbay, Torquay, Brixham, Totnes and surrounding area.

What is your personal message to students?

Don't let studying science be your personal nightmare! I can guide you through the maze and show you how to find your way. Study with me and soon you will Love Learning Science.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes Enhanced but I think it has expired
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: South Hams, Torbay, Brixham,Totnes
Online tutor: I tutor online via Zoom
Subjects: Biology GCSE
  Chemistry GCSE
  Physics GCSE
  Biology AS/A Level
  Chemistry IB Standard
  Biology IB Standard and Higher
  Science KS3 (Years 7-9)