Kara C

back to the directory
£ 30.00-35.00 p/h

My name is Kara Cook and I am a qualified teacher, online tutor and the successful business owner of Just 2 Imagine Tutors. I am an enthusiastic primary specialist offering online tutoring in English and maths for children ages 7-11. Is your child struggling with literacy or maths? Let's put an end to their frustration! I can help by building your child's confidence, closing their learning gaps and changing their mindset to 'Yes I can!'

How would you describe your teaching style?

I would describe my teaching style as facilitator and motivator. I use a variety of fun games and activities to help children to learn new learning and consolidate their taught skills. My lonline tutoring lessons are personalised and tailored specifically to a child's individual needs. At the heart of my teaching philosophy is the firm belief that all children can learn in a calm encouraging environment. I believe online learning should be fun and exciting allowing children to overcome their obstacles and build their confidence. I also believe in the power of not yet and the importance of a Growth Mindset. I teach my students strategies for learning from mistakes, how to be brave enough to ask questions and how to think critically so they can tackle problems and new learning. This is all part of building independent, confident learners and helping them reach their highest potential.

What qualifications do you have?

2019- MA Early Years Education-University College of London, UK 2012- Qualified Teacher Status- All NC subjects, Primary and Secondary Education, Department of Education, England 2001-Teacher of English,Standard Teaching Certificate-New Jersey Department of Education, NJ, USA 1997-BA English Education-Primary and Secondary level- Kean University, NJ, USA

Tell us about your experience...

I have over 22 years of qualified teaching experience in both the UK and US. I taught as a primary class teacher for 12 years in England and I have 10 years of private tutoring experience. My most recent experience as an online tutor has been very positive. I tutor mainly students that are between the ages of 7-11. I have successfully closed the learning gaps of over 10 students in the past 3 months. Two of the children have missed over 2 1/2 years of school and I helped bring them to grade level in maths and reading. Please read more about my success stories on my website.

What locations do you tutor in?

Online Tutor-Currently, I only offer online tutoring in the UK. I am familiar with the primary curriculum in England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. I can also offer tutoring in the US (East coast only).

What is your personal message to students?

Positive Words of Encouragement "Never give up! Don't just wish for it, work for it. Always dream big!"

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: I tutor via Zoom
Subjects: Primary Education KS2 Online
  Primary Education KS1 (Year 2)
  Maths KS2 ages 7-11
  Primary Education KS2 ages 7-11
  English KS2 ages 7-11
  Maths KS1 ages 6-7
  Writing KS2 ages 7-11