John C

back to the directory
£ 20.00-35.00 p/h

A graduate of the University of Nottingham (Economics), I completed my teacher training (at University of Derby) in Mathematics. It`s one of those subjects that is so useful, outside of the realm of mathematics proper but also sometimes quite inaccessible to many and so I like to provide as much support as I can. I find that the beauty of 1:2:1 tutoring is that one can get to know the person learning the subject directly. What is their current strengths? Perhaps even in a separate subject, even. Utilising that to help maths make sense. And, I welcome lots of questions too. I enjoyed delivering training to staff in my previous career and thought I'd look to teaching, which I moved over to in 2017, which I thoroughly enjoy. I've also been able to deliver an online GCSE Maths programme at my college, and have engaged in some exciting research in engaging students in mathematics and developing problem solving. I've been been tutoring now for 8 years (although there was a quiet spell thanks to the dreaded COVID!) and it's one of the best things ever! I can't wait to meet you.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I would describe my teaching style as personal, supportive and interactive. In the classroom, I encourage my learners to have a voice (no such thing as a silly question when it comes to maths) and ask questions, supply their thoughts even if they think it can’t be that easy, can it? Sometimes it is! I encourage curiosity, but then that’s because I am too. Curious that is.

What qualifications do you have?

I’m an avid student myself and love to learn, but probably the qualifications you might be more interested in are at degree level? I did my undergraduate at University of Nottingham, that was in Economics And then I got my teaching qualification through University of Derby I’ve also completed a course in Leaders of Learning through Harvard University and Engaging Families in Education at the same Uni.

Tell us about your experience...

I’ve been providing private tutoring in Mathematics since 2013 whilst I was studying Economics as a mature student at Nottingham, right up to when I got my first teaching role, and I’m still doing it. Of course, why would I stop? I left my previous career working in the energy industry to study and become a teacher of maths at an FE College, and since being there have enjoyed success and developed my other passion - research.

What locations do you tutor in?

I mainly tutor in Derby/shire but also have provided sessions to students in Leicester (of course) and Nottingham. Even further afield, thanks to t’internet, where I’ve delivered some online sessions. But most students tend to favour one to one. It all depends on where you are.

What is your personal message to students?

Everybody can do maths, some just need that extra heave-ho, whilst others still need the key to unlock that eureka moment. Some find some areas of mathematics harder than others, you might get something that just perplexes a lot of people. That’s the beauty of individual learning and understanding and maths is like that too. I’ve learnt that you mustn’t let anyone tell you that you’ll never be able to do something (even yourself), just look at all those geniuses in the past that has been told that themselves: Walt Disney not creative? Isaac Newton not scientifically minded? There’re plenty out there. Are you another?

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: I have DBS
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Derbyshire, Leicestershire
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype, Zoom, MSTeams depending on Tutee preference
Subjects: Maths GCSE
  Maths KS3
  Maths A Level
  ICT Adult Learner
  Maths Adult Learner