Joel K

back to the directory
£ 25.00-30.00 p/h

I am a qualified Science teacher with a PhD in Nanotechnology and a history of helping students attain top grades

How would you describe your teaching style?

In my experience, the best way to teach someone is to get to know and establish a relationship with them. In this way, you can get to know them and understand their weaknesses, and work from there. I try to explain concepts in simple terms and in a way that is logical. Then, I guide them towards the right answer in a step-by-step manner. This will help them to understand something, as well as build their confidence. I am patient and understand that everyone works in different ways. Ultimately, the best way to learn and understand something is to practice, so I will encourage my tutees to work through any work they have, and will provide them with any additional work that they may need.

What qualifications do you have?

I am a qualified teacher in Physics to A-level and Biology/Chemistry to GCSE. During my career, I completed a PhD in nanotechnology at QUB and achieved a 2:1 in my undergraduate degree at QUB in Physics with extended studies in Europe. This included two years of French classes and a year abroad in Lyon, France. I have 11 GCSEs, including physics, maths, additional maths and French, and 4 A-levels in maths, physics, French and Spanish.

Tell us about your experience...

I have worked as a Science teacher for the last year and a half, teaching Physics, Biology, and Chemistry up to GCSE level. In the last year, I have been tutoring a student on the iGCSE syllabus and helped him to achieve top grades. At university, I demonstrated in a level 2 lab class, where I helped students with experiments, answered any questions they had about the science or theory, and ensured safety at all times. As a senior member of my research group, I was also responsible for showing other members how to use equipment and do the various techniques to work in our lab. While I lived in France, I had a job as an English language speaking assistant for university students to improve their skills. I volunteer at a homework club for refugee children aged 6-18, where I help them with their school work. Usually, this will be maths or science. Although it can be tough, it's also very rewarding work! I also volunteer as a STEM ambassador, and occasionally go into schools to perform physics tricks for the pupils.

What locations do you tutor in?

Currently in and around Manchester, UK. I will mainly be working online until after the pandemic has eased

What is your personal message to students?

I will do everything that I can to help you to reach your potential and to achieve the best grade that you can get

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype
Subjects: Physics Up to A-level
  Biology Up to GCSE
  Chemistry Up to GCSE
  Maths Up to GCSE
  French Up to KS3