Joan M

back to the directory
£ 30.00-40.00 p/h

Hello there! My name is Joan. I am a certified High School English teacher and experienced tutor. I have a B.A. in English literature and Art History as well as a PGDE in Secondary Education. I currently work as a classroom teacher of English language and literature and have previous experience as an ESL instructor, an English and French private tutor, and an instructor of creative writing and visual arts to French-English bilingual classes. My pupils have ranged in age from 5-18. Many were learning English as an additional language and others had Autism, ADHD or Dyslexia. I have worked closely with ESL and pupil support departments as well as taken on additional training to ensure I can meet the diverse needs of my pupils. I am confident I can help you or your child succeed academically regardless of your or your child's age, ability or linguistic background.I live close to the city centre, with my own transport, an up to date CRB record, excellent references, fantastic resources and can commit long or short term depending on your or your child's needs. I am also available remotely via Skype, FaceTime, Zoom or Google Classroom. I look forward to working with you!

How would you describe your teaching style?

I am friendly and flexible, adapting to you or your child's needs. I believe that teaching and learning is a collaborative process and take a social constructivist approach to learning. But I can also provide structure and routine which is particularly important when it comes to meeting deadlines for portfolios, coursework and exams.

What qualifications do you have?

I have a B.A. in English and Art History from McGill University in Montreal, QC, Canada and at PGDE from Moray House at the University of Edinburgh. I have also completed multiple continuing development courses in student support including subjects such as: Autism, A.C.E.S, and Mental health awareness.

Tell us about your experience...

I am currently teaching English literature and language, as well as ESL and literacy support classes, at Matrix Academy to students S1 through S6. I have also been a private English, ESL, French, and literacy support private tutor for 5 years. Previous to obtaining my PGDE, I was an ESL instructor to speakers of many different languages. These included: Polish, Ukrainian, Russian, Arabic, and Mandarin. I was also a creative writing and Art teacher to French and English speakers . I love working with young people and was a babysitter and nanny for nine years before becoming a tutor/teacher.

What locations do you tutor in?

Edinburgh and the surrounding suburbs or online

What is your personal message to students?

Whatever your level in English/French/Art, I am happy to help you set and reach your goals. Together, we can find an approach to your studies which best helps you learn. I look forward to working with you whether you need essay writing help, editing, proofreading, preparation for upcoming exams or longer term support with coursework. I look forward to hearing from you!

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes, a Disclosure Certificate
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: I am willing to travel through Edinburgh and to most surrounding suburbs.
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype, Zoom, or Google Meets depending on the client's preferences. I am also willing to meet in person, provided we follow Covid-19 guidance.
Subjects: English primary and secondary
  English as a foreign language primary and secondary
  French primary and secondary
  Art History secondary and university undergraduates