Jennifer H

back to the directory
£ 20.00-25.00 p/h

My tutoring style involves engaging, motivating and personalised lessons designed to promote a love for learning which helps students to retain their learning. I understand the progression expected through the national curriculum and take pride in the resources I have produced in line with it. I focus on tackling the "scary" topics- such as fractions and apostrophes as these can be really complex to begin to understand, but once cracked bring endless confidence! I follow exploratory, mastery styles of teaching and use discussions to engage students in their thought processes. I am tutoring whilst completing my Masters in special needs education after achieving a first class honours degree in primary education with mathematics. I use my knowledge and experiences from my teaching course to bring the best tutoring to any student who requires mathematics or English tutoring. I have worked through KS1 and KS2, being proudly responsible for year 6 in the run up to their national assessments (SATs) and use a creative, engaging teaching style to promote learning and progress. I look forward to hearing from you.

How would you describe your teaching style?

Motivating, engaging, personalised, and confidence building. I believe that students learn best when they are motivated and actually want to learn. I try to achieve this by being friendly, following the students interest and allowing them to explore the learning in a guided way. I believe that as you are paying for a service it should be individualised to each learner, I tutor on a 1:1 basis, focusing on either Literacy or Mathematics. I am happy to tailor to each learner be it by following the national curriculum, a school/academy scheme, individual key areas, or whatever your needs may be, a simple discussion is sure to result in a plan which is tailored to what you need. I strongly believe in making sessions enjoyable, memorable and ensuring that the learning is natural. My background in SEN has taught me that each learner is unique, and the way they learn will reflect this, as such I pride myself on adapting to each learner. Some students thrive with writing things down all the time, others prefer a verbal, discussion based approach, some are rather independent and others need reassurance and to build their confidence. I try to incorporate methods which are easily adaptable for the first session to enable me to learn the students preferences which in turn will ensure that I can utilise this to promote progress towards the outcomes expected. I think that fun, motivating, individualised learning is the best way to ensure that each individual performs their best. It's a big time commitment for me compared to following a singular scheme that each child should subscribe to, but I much prefer this individualised approach and I am sure you will see the benefits of it too!

What qualifications do you have?

1st class honours degree in primary education with mathematics (June 2018) Ongoing Masters in Education Qualified Teachers Status

Tell us about your experience...

I have 5 years of experience within primary schools, supporting and assisting whole class lessons across the curriculum as well as small group and 1:1 sessions in mathematics and English. Whilst studying for my degree I completed three 6-10 week placements in Nursery, Year 2 and Year 6. These opportunities have given me a deep understanding of national testing (the dreaded SATs) and the pressure these place upon students.I focused on an engaging and dynamic learning environment, ensuring that my students thrived in lessons which they retained because they enjoyed them rather than because they were worried about passing a big scary test at the end. This method of enjoyable learning really worked for my class- they all managed to make great progress and their attainment was impeccable. I am privileged to have had the opportunity to teach in both of the national testing years within the primary phase. These opportunities have really helped me to grasp and fully understand the National curriculum, prompting me to develop an in-depth scheme of work using the bar model to teach fractions in an experiential way. Besides my key teaching experiences through the primary phase, I have volunteered within several non-mainstream schools with students who have Special Educational Needs (SEN) ranging from those temporarily out of mainstream education to a medium secure psychiatric ward for young adults. Again, I cherish these experiences and feel that each lesson I was involved in, and the lessons I had the opportunity to lead, have given me such an incredible breadth of experiences, and really helped me to develop a range of teaching strategies I will be able to utilise in my tutoring.

What locations do you tutor in?

I am based around Newcastle, and will travel approximately 15 miles from West Denton to deliver 1:1 tuition, if you are at all curious just ask me and I'll be able to confirm if I am able/unable to tutor in your area.

What is your personal message to students?

As a student your education is important, and so is enjoying it! I focus on enjoyable, fun activities which help you to understand the tricky bits to learn. I will be happy to hear what you want to learn, what you think you are good at and what you like to do so I can make a personal learning journey which following what you need.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: DBS
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: Newcastle
Online tutor: No
Subjects: Maths KS1, KS2
  English KS1, KS2