James M

back to the directory
£ 20.00-30.00 p/h

I have been teaching English for three years and tutoring for two. My background is working as a teaching assistant for children with special educational needs. I have an English degree, I'm a qualified teacher and I've had some creative writing published. I'm willing to send proof of qualifications and DBS certificate if there are any concerns.

How would you describe your teaching style?

Adaptable - I work primarily with people do not enjoy English and I try and make it relatable to them. I can teach using texts that students want to read, if they have a hobbie, I'll get them to analyse an article about that hobby and hopefully keep them engaged, I try to listen to students and if something isn't working for them, I change my approach.

What qualifications do you have?

I have a 2:1 BA (Hons) in English and Creative Writing (I can verify all qualifications if needed) I have a PGCE in teaching English. I have A levels and GCSE's.

Tell us about your experience...

I've been a class teacher for three years. I plan my own lessons and make my resources to suit the needs and interests of my students.

What locations do you tutor in?

Coventry, Rugby and Leamington

What is your personal message to students?

I try and make myself as adaptable as possible, I am dyslexic and I know what it's like to struggle.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: I have a DBS
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: Leamington Spa, Coventry and Rugby
Online tutor: I use Google hangouts and Google classrooms.
Subjects: English GCSE