Helena K

back to the directory
£ 35.00-40.00 p/h

I studied modern foreign languages at Oxford University and I am fluent in French, Spanish and Italian. As my degree required extensive analysis of literature, as well as weekly essays, I am able to help students with English at all levels. I run individual and group tutoring sessions for all ages and I am very patient, friendly and organised. It can be daunting trying to speak another language, but everyone has to start somewhere! I help students feel as relaxed as possible. I enjoy working with children as well as adults. I currently work in the City with European clients and see tutoring as a very rewarding, stimulating way to spend my free time. I have taught students of all ages for French, English and Spanish and their results have consistently been exemplary (e.g one student for GCSE English achieved an A star having had a predicted grade C). I have taught over 15 pupils across 2 years. I have also worked abroad, working as a translator in Paris in a legal translation firm, and working in Barcelona in the marketing department. During my studies, I also spent a summer au pairing in Spain and two months teaching all ages in Perù, both in a school and a language institute.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I like to adapt to the student's individual needs as everyone's strenghts and areas to work on vary. I tutor students whose focus is literature analysis and general discussions (e.g. on a news article) as well as students preparing for specific exams. I l take the time to carefully explain grammar points as these are the building blocks to languages, but are often taught in a confusing, unhelpful way. I help my students understand that it's ok to get things wrong and that making mistakes is a way to learn. I'm always happy to go over anything as many times as the student requires. I like to give homework to complement the lessons, but can adapt depending on the student's workload or preferences.

What qualifications do you have?

Modern Foreign Languages Degree, Oxford University

Tell us about your experience...

I have been teaching in London for 2.5 years, teaching all ages from primary school to adult, teaching French, Spanish, English as a second language, Italian and English GCSE and A-level. I have also been tutoring two students for Oxbridge exam and interview prep.

What locations do you tutor in?

London, online.

What is your personal message to students?

Friendly, organised and dedicated tutor who loves helping others.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: No
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor:
Online tutor:
Subjects: French Primary to degree
  Spanish Primary to degree
  Italian Primary to A-level
  English Primary to A-level
  English as a foreign language Primary to degree