Helena J

back to the directory
£ 20.00-40.00 p/h

Hi, I'm a private tutor with more than three years experience teaching English Literature to students of all ages, and teaching English as a foreign language to adult casual learners of mixed levels and abilities. I specialise in 11+, SATs, GCSE and A-Level exam preparation, my main aim being to increase my student's confidence and self-belief as well as their grades. I believe one-on-one tuition is about more than repeating information, but that my role is to provide students with the knowledge, encouragement and support they need to do their best.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I'm personally a visual learner, but I understand that everyone learns differently, and the same approach won't work for everyone. This is why I really work heard to get to know my students and figure out what method works best for them. With younger children I like to play games and use interactive activities to get them interested in the subject. I want to work with my students and not against them as I find from experience that a lack in confidence and a disinterest in the subject is normally what students struggle with, not the information itself.

What qualifications do you have?

I have a Bachelor's Degree in English literature and Film studies from Queen Mary's University of London. I have an up-to-date CRB check and over three years experience in private tuition.

Tell us about your experience...

I started tutoring part-time in my last year of University and also volunteered as a tutor and mentor at Bethnal Green Academy whilst studying at University. After graduating, I continued to work part-time as a freelance tutor after moving to Newcastle, where I lived for two years. For over a year now I've been a self-employed private tutor full time and have also taught at a specialist education centre in the Newcastle area. I have always tutored children of all ages, and specialise in exam preparation at all levels of the educational system. For the last year I have also started teaching English as a foreign language due to a long-time interest in linguistics and grammar, and have taught and supported many adult casual learners and University students in improving their ESL communication skills.

What locations do you tutor in?

I am located in Sydenham but have access to a car and am happy to travel within a 5-10 mile radius of my home.

What is your personal message to students?

If you're having trouble wrapping your head around a subject or a specific area within that subject, or if you feel like you just need a boost in confidence to get through those intimidating, looming exams, I'm here to help. I want to work with you to figure out what the best learning method is for you. Everyone needs help finding out what works best for them, and a little support and encouragement can go a long way.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: Anywhere within a 5 mile radius
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype and Facetime
Subjects: English Primary, Secondary, GCSE, A-Level
  English as a foreign language From beginners to semi-fluent speakers.
  Art History A-Level
  Maths Primary