Heather -'TorquayTutor'

back to the directory
£ 19.50-29.50 p/h

Just currently, my preference is to offer 'quick boost' or shorter term tuition. Here are some prices (per hour): FRENCH/ GERMAN: Primary: £19.50. KS3 (age 11-14): £19.50. GCSE: £23.50. A-Level/IB/University: £25.50. Adult learner: £22.50. ENGLISH/ LITERACY: Primary: £19.50. KS3 (11 -14 years): £19.50. GCSE English Language: £23.50. Adult learner: £22.50. PSYCHOLOGY: up to GCSE: £23.50 per hour. ENGLISH AS A FOREIGN LANGUAGE (EFL)/ ENGLISH FOR SPEAKERS OF OTHER LANGUAGES (ESOL): Junior (non-exam): £22.50. Secondary school age (non-exam): £22.50. University/Academic English: £29.50. Adult Learner (non-exam): £25.50. Preparation for elementary examinations: £25.50. Preparation for intermediate exams: £27.50. Preparation for advanced/ professional exams: £29.50. I prefer to tutor from home but if I agree to travel to you, a small additional charge will be incurred for travel time and fuel (according to distance but generally between £1 and £3).

How would you describe your teaching style?

I see a teacher as a facilitator and motivator. Students find me good at understanding the root of difficulties and at explaining things, patiently and with flexibility of approach. Teaching material depends on the student's individual requirements. Basics can be taught and require the student's application to learn them, but the learning 'comes alive' when students try out and manipulate the particular features of language for themselves, whether it's through written exercises or a spoken exchange such as role-play. And for this, they need, as we all do, their confidence built up through clear and reinforced explanation, encouragement and praise. I enjoy getting along with different people - and all ages are welcome! - and, more specifically, seeing students overcome stumbling blocks and 'get it'. In other words: a 'can do' environment.

What qualifications do you have?

I am a qualified teacher of Modern Foreign Languages with an Honours degree in French with German from Durham University and a PGCE (Post-Graduate Certificate of Education) from Cambridge University. I have lived in both France and Germany, where I laid down good conversational levels on top of sound academic knowledge of the languages. While living in Bavaria, I gained a Certificate in Teaching English to Adults through their adult education institution ('Volkshochschule'). I recently returned to university (Plymouth) as a definitely mature student to attain an MSc Psychology - with Merit - undertaking an independent research project and dissertation in Social/ Moral Psychology. For experience and grounding before this, I undertook a Graduate Certificate in Psychology by distance learning from London Metropolitan University; I passed each module with Distinction.

Tell us about your experience...

A trained teacher of Modern Foreign Languages, I have also taught EFL (English as a Foreign Language) - or ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages) - in the UK and abroad. I am familiar with state and independent schools, having taught French and German in both, up to and including A-Level. I have kept up with more recent curricular and syllabus changes in a range of subject areas while seeing my children through school and onward to university, including preparation for some highly competitive higher education and career destinations. Certified in EFL, I have taught in a wide range of well-reputed language schools and in the FE and Adult Learning sectors. My varied experience includes preparation for most of the recognised exams and Academic as well as Business English. I have taught English for Academic Purposes on pre-sessional courses at Exeter University's INTO centre. I have been an IELTS examiner and conducted and assessed City & Guild exams. I also offer French and German courses to adult learners who wish to make some preparation for work assignments or holidays, or to boost their general interest. I have taught languages to staff and apprentices in businesses. I have completed a 10-module foundation course (supported by Torquay Boys' Grammar School) in French for primary school children. I now offer tuition in Psychology up to GCSE. Please note, I can also ably and empathetically assist with Basic (English) Skills and Adult Literacy.

What locations do you tutor in?

Torbay, South Devon - in most instances from home.

What is your personal message to students?

Discuss with me what you're looking for - some background about your level and previous experience of the subject (if any), reasons for tuition, aims and, possibly, areas to focus on - so that I can best see if/how I can oblige.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: DBS x2: children, March 2017 + adults, Dec. 2018
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: within 3 mile radius
Online tutor: No
Subjects: English as a foreign language All
  French All
  German All
  Psychology GCSE
  English GCSE (Eng. Lang.) & all levels of literacy