Gill S

back to the directory
£ 25.00-30.00 p/h

Qualifications: MA (Oxon) in Mathematics, 13 years full-time Maths teaching experience at a leading public school. I offer GSCE Maths or Pure Maths up to AS level. Able to teach at my home or to travel. Beyond a 10-mile radius of HR9 6DZ, may charge expenses.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I give lessons one-to-one, unpressurised, but ready to move on with a confident pupil. I begin by finding the areas where a student needs more thorough understanding, either by asking directly what topics they would like to unpick, or starting from the (question-solving) problems they bring me where they need help. This allows me to go back the necessary number of steps to ground them thoroughly in the basics of that topic; then work through some examples at that day's level (and set some for the student to take away and tackle alone) before working up through subsequent levels. Repeat for as many topics as required!

What qualifications do you have?

MA (Oxon) in Mathematics

Tell us about your experience...

Beginning by teaching a number of private pupils, I taught briefly in one of few Secondary Modern schools then remaining. I then taught for thirteen years at a leading girls' school, with pupils ranging from 12 years, well pre-GCSE, up to some brilliant Further Maths A Level and Special Paper students. Outside the world of Maths, I write travel books, give travel talks - and breed and compete rare horses!

What locations do you tutor in?

I teach in my own home; or can travel to south Herefordshire, the Forest of Dean and east Monmouthshire. Lessons a distance of more than 10 miles from HR9 6DZ will incur travel expenses.

What is your personal message to students?

The road to excellence consists of many small steps forward. "Better is good!" (Barack Obama).

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: No
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: South Herefordshire, Forest of Dean, Monmouthshire
Online tutor: No
Subjects: Maths GCSE
  Maths AS