Frederick P

back to the directory
£ 15.00-40.00 p/h

I am a young adult with a 2:1 in a Bachelor’s Mechanical Engineering degree and a PGCE in Secondary Education. I have experience teaching and tutoring both KS3 and KS4 (GCSE) maths as well as supporting primary school and special needs students with a variety of subjects. My ambition is fueled by the desire to provide outstanding teaching and learning to all abilities and backgrounds, so each child has an opportunity to succeed in and outside of education.

How would you describe your teaching style?

Calm but efficient and an effective approach to working with students. I focus on procedural and conceptual understanding of topics to give students an opportunity to learn key processes and apply these to standard and non standard problems. At all stages I make sure there is a dialogue between myself and the student(s) to make sure they are confident in their work or are able to communicate their misunderstanding or anxiety in maths.

What qualifications do you have?

I have a Bachelors degree in Mechanical Engineering and a PGCE in secondary Education

Tell us about your experience...

A year working as a TA and LSA supporting students of varying abilities and special needs A year training at two ofsted rated 'Good' schools in central London, one mixed and one single sex NQT year completed at a central london mixed school Last year spent working at an ofsted rated 'Outstanding' single sex school. A year tutoring two GCSE, one KS3 and one Primary school pupil.

What locations do you tutor in?

London but can tutor online to anywhere

What is your personal message to students?

Every student (and even teachers!) can get anxiety over maths and it is my job to help you get past your struggles and get confident in applying maths to different problems. There is never a 'stupid question' with me and I will make sure you can ask me anything at any point - as communication is key to success.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes DBS
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: Any London Area within 5 miles
Online tutor: I tutor via zoom, skype, facetime and use BitPaper
Subjects: Maths KS2 - GCSE
  English KS2