Fran R

back to the directory
£ 30.00-45.00 p/h

Hi! I graduated from Cambridge University with a Natural Sciences degree, previously having achieved 4As at A-level, and 7A*s and 4As at GCSE. I qualified as a secondary science teacher and now have more than 5 years of experience teaching all sciences to GCSE (AQA and OCR) and A-level Biology and Chemistry, as well as teaching a BTEC applied science course to Level 3. I am now Head of Biology in a successful science department in West London, and have experience at one other school in London, as well as one international school teaching to international exam specifications. I am used to teaching students from a variety of backgrounds, and have good understanding of how to succeed and achieve good results in science at all levels.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I try to make my lessons personable and relevant- science is the study of the world around us after all! I am patient with misunderstandings, and use questioning and discussions to find out where students weak spots are in order to improve them! I will listen to students, but also know full well that our problem areas are also the ones we least want to work on :)

What qualifications do you have?

Cambridge University with a Natural Sciences degree (neuroscience) 4As at A-level (Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Maths- all before A* existed!) 7A*s (English Lang, English Lit, Maths, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, French) and 4As at GCSE (Spanish, Geography, Art, Food Technology)

Tell us about your experience...

I have previously tutored students in a range of subjects- starting at 18 as a homeschooling/nanny job tutoring French, English, Maths and Science, I then moved on to teaching and tutoring in my holidays/weekends. I have previously volunteered for adult tutoring, and online English classes which were very rewarding and allowed education to be accessible to people who otherwise couldn't reach classes in person.

What locations do you tutor in?

West and Central London

What is your personal message to students?

As a teacher I want to help people enjoy learning, and understanding how the world works around us! I have helped many students in school and outside to achieve their aims, and become more confident in their own abilities.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: DBS
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: West and Central London
Online tutor: I tutor on Skype or Google Meet
Subjects: Biology Up to A-level
  Chemistry Up to A-level
  Physics Up to GCSE
  BTEC Applied Science Level 3