Fenny A

back to the directory
£ 25.00-40.00 p/h

I have been a teacher since 2001, mainly teaching English as a second language as well as English for overseas study preparation. In my home country (Indonesia), I also taught Mathematics - primary level in an international school, for two years, and lectured in Business Communications and English for Tourism for over four years. Currently I am tutoring EAP (IELTS, TOEFL, FCE, CAE), ESOL, Business English and Indonesian language for private clients. My professional background: I worked for a number of years as a journalist, copywriter, translator and interpreter. I have worked in Australia, the USA, Indonesia, Denmark, Spain, and the U.K. I wrote news in politics and economics, and, being a freelance reporter, I also covered lifestyle articles such as travel and tourism, food and restaurant reviews, and cultures. My academic background: I graduated from RMIT University in Australia, majoring in Journalism and minoring in Public Relations. On my final year there, I received a scholarship that allowed me to study in the USA for two semesters. In 2012 I received a scholarship from the EU to study in Denmark, with a mobility scheme to Spain and the U.K. as well. I completed my study in 2014, with a Master's in Lifelong Learning, in which I studied and analysed education policies worldwide. My dissertation was on the Massive Open Online Learning (MOOCs), in which I received Grade A, and is currently under peer review for publication purpose.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I am a learner-centred teacher. As much as I can, I try to understand learner's motivation and incorporate it into lesson plans. I am patient and tolerant. Coming from a non-native-speaker background myself, I understand the hurdles and challenges in learning English as a non-native and will be able to relate to the student, and therefore, to design activities that is engaging and deliver results.

What qualifications do you have?

CELTA

Tell us about your experience...

I graduated from RMIT University in Australia in 1999, and worked for six years as a reporter/journalist. I switched into teaching in 2006 as I found my calling and enjoyed working with young adults and adults alike. I was an English teacher in my country, Indonesia, in different environments: primary school, secondary school, high school, and university. At the same time I was also tutoring on private and group-basis. I taught Year 1-6 English, GCSE English, IELTS, TOEFL and academic study preparations in general, for Indonesians wishing to pursue higher education overseas. In 2012 I received an Erusmus+ scholarship from the EU, allowing me to pursuse a Master's degree in Lifelong Learning: Policy and Management, from three different universities in Europe, one of them being the Institute of Education (IOE). I graduated with grade A for my dissertation on MOOCs and students' online-learning experience.

What locations do you tutor in?

mainly East and North London, but I can travel anywhere within the 4-mile radius from E8 4NF.

What is your personal message to students?

I think learning a new language is like learning how to ride a bike. For beginners, it felt weird to start, it was difficult, it did not evoke motivation or discipline. In cycling, once you start pedaling, you may find the load to be lighter and you may think it only makes sense to keep cycling. The same goes with learning any new language or mastering it (if this is not something new to you) - the only sensible thing to do is keep practising, keep drilling new words, keep doing exercises. You will get to where you want to arrive at, eventually.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: CBS certificate
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Hackney, Islington, Stoke Newington, Stamford Hill, Shoreditch, areas within 3 miles from E8
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype
Subjects: English KS1-GCSE
  English as a foreign language Beginner - Advanced
  Media Studies Undergraduate
  Indonesian Beginner - Advanced