Emily P

back to the directory
£ 40.00-100.00 p/h

I am a full-time educator with over six years of experience. I am an English Literature graduate (BA) of the University of Aberystwyth where I especially enjoyed papers in Anglo-Saxon, Medieval, female empowerment and Viking Sagas. Following on from University I gained my PGCE with the University of Chester via the School Direct programme, beating 200 other applicants for one of the 20 places available. I was exposed to the latest in education theory and pedagogical techniques during the revamp of the National Curriculum. I then completed the prestigious MRes and PhD with Swansea University in the highly acclaimed Medieval Literature department only accepts proposals from two students every three years.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I am passionate about education and feel I have the creativity, patience, experience and pedagogical knowledge to deliver a high-quality tutoring service to a wide range of age groups and abilities. My main subjects are Primary, English Literature, English Language and History, which I tutor to all school levels (A-level, IB, GCSE, IGCSE etc.), 11+, 13+ and 16+. Additionally, I tutor English Literature and History to undergraduate level.

What qualifications do you have?

2019 - Kings College London – Caring For People With Psychosis and Schizophrenia The Open University - Understanding Dyslexia 2016 - Swansea University – Masters of Research (MRes) Women, Empowerment and the Natural World in Medieval Literature 1200-1500 2015 - NSPCC Recruitment Programme Online Academics - Counselling Children and Adolescents Diploma 2014 - Chester University - PGCE and QTS 2012 - TA NFCE Level 2 and 3 2012 - Aberystwyth University - 2:1 BA (Hons) English Literature 2009 - Sir John Deane's College - A-Levels: English Literature, History, Law 2007 - Frodsham High School - GCSEs: 9 at Grade A-C (including English, Science, and maths)

Tell us about your experience...

Qualified and experienced I have tutoring experience across all Exam Boards before moving into high education and have been graded Outstanding twice. As an adoptive parent, I have significant experience with undertsanding where children's behaviour comes from and therefore the most effective way of communicating the subject matter. This has enabled me to tailor teaching and learning to suit the individual and spot the root cause of their issue quickly. This has allowed me to gain much experience and I have taught over 5000 hours in person and of the 'virtual learning environment' (Skype tuition, Scribblar etc.), over 3,000 hours. This learning style encourages students to develop their communicative skills, as they must defend their solutions verbally, rather than rely on the tutor to infer from their writing. It is my belief that the most important quality a tutor must possess is an appreciation of the individual requirements, needs and aptitudes of each of their pupils. Furthermore, I ensure that I identify and develop the natural learning style of each of my students, enabling them to achieve their intellectual potential. This is supported by marking of past papers, notes on exam strategy, and the regular setting of homework. Additionally, I submit a comprehensive written report to both student and parents after each session and encourage my clients to contact me out of hours if they have any questions or concerns. Moreover, I understand what it is like to be young and want to make the most of your educational opportunities. From fourteen, I used my school holidays to gain experience in different industries such as law, film, editorial and journalism which have shaped me into the adaptable and confident person I am today. Professionalism and reliability are the backbone of my service.

What locations do you tutor in?

All surrounding areas! Local and further afield.

What is your personal message to students?

Always believe in yourself.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: TBC
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype
Subjects: English Primary, 11+, KS3, GCSE, A-level, Degree
  History Primary, 11+, KS3, GCSE, A-level, Degree
  Religious Studies Primary, KS3, GCSE, A-level
  11 Plus Literacy, NV and V